Market Friday: decorations in store indicate that people are crazy about cacti.

This is my entry for #marketfriday hosted by our compassionate and generous @dswigle who continually read all our entries with kind support and understanding. It has been a learning process participating in this wonderful tag, for which I am very grateful. I wish I could have half the measure of her kind sensibility and wisdom. The weather has signaled a change of time and a quiet sense of urgency of what’ s coming to pass in the near future. While we often have grey wet days, the very strong heat during the day has subsided. During my walking exercise in the huge shopping mall recently, I happened to see a completely new collection of decorations for people who are very fond of cacti.

img_1270.jpg

img_1269.jpg

The decorations on display were very nicely designed and numerous in choices for customers. All these cacti designed decorations reflected that cacti have become a new fashion among plant lovers and that we could expect to see more cacti at plant shops from now on.

img_1271.jpg

These cute cacti vases, containers and pot plants looked very attractive but I dared not look at their price tags. Usually, prices of goods in big shopping malls are more expensive than those similar items in local markets. The store staff were very kind and let me take as many photos as I wanted; they even let me rearrange some items for my photography. Of course, I put them back at their old places. Otherwise they might not allow me to take photos of their next collection.

img_1273.jpg

img_1272.jpg

I have no idea when cacti began to saturate the subconscious of city people. Somehow I started noticing odd cactus pots appearing on office-desks during the past four years. Then, there were more numerous pots of cacti popping up in bookshops,coffee shops and offices around my work place.

img_1277.jpg

img_1280.jpg

One day I dropped by a plant nursery belonging to my friend’ sister in the countryside. I was very surprised to see hundreds of small pots of cacti on display. I did ask the staff there whether they could be easily sold in the countryside. The following week I dropped by to pick up some ordered trees; all those cacti were sold out in one week.

img_1282.jpg

img_1281.jpg

I thought this was just a passing fad; how wrong I was when all these decorations were starring at me in this store. So, more people are getting crazy about cacti which should be good for cacti growers who could hardly make money in the past. Suddenly I recalled my small cactus plant which I gave to my close friend years ago before leaving for my college. I do wonder whether my friend still keeps that cactus. It would have become very big by this time. These cacti decorations inadvertently brought back the long lost memory of my cactus and old school friend. Perhaps it’s time I revisited my old school friend while I still have the chance. But we haven’t met for a long time and we grew apart naturally as a result of different social situations and contexts.

img_1283.jpg

img_1285.jpg

I had a surprised meeting with my long lost cousin who turned out to be drastically changed through life’s trails and errors. It was painful to see someone who used to be very lively and boisterous turned into a rather sad and withindrawn person. Life is full of uncertainty and unexpected turns of events. This reminds me that I still have my old karma to work out as a human being striving towards enlightenment. Life is a never ending learning process; so I often count my blessings and look for the silver lining behind those clouds.

img_1287.jpg

img_1288.jpg

เมื่อเดือนก่อนเราไปเดินเที่ยวออกกำลังกายที่ห้างสรรพสินค้า เพราะอากาศร้อนอบอ้าวเกินไปที่จะไปเดินเที่ยวตามวัด ตอนนั้นห้างยังค่อนข้างเงียบ มีคนยืนขายของมากกว่าคนมาเดินดูของ ทำให้มีความรู้สึกเศร้าพิกล เราก็หวังว่าทุกอย่างจะดีขึ้นไปเรื่อยๆ พอเดินไปที่ชั้นห้า เราแปลกใจมากที่มีของตกแต่งบ้านวางขาย เป็นรูปแบบของต้นกระบองเพชรเต็มไปหมด ทุกอย่างมีสีเขียวทำให้ชั้นวางของดูสดชื่นมาก เราก็เดินหามุมถ่ายรูปและจัดของใหม่ เพื่อให้ถ่ายรูปได้สะดวกยิ่งขึ้น โชคดีมากที่้พนักงานปล่อยให้เราเดินถ่ายรูปได้อย่างสะดวกสบาย เราก็หวังว่าลูกค้าจะชอบใจของเหล่านี้และชวนกันมาซื้อของไปแต่งบ้านกัน คนขายของจะได้ยิ้มออกบ้าง

img_1290.jpg

img_1289.jpg

พอเห็นของพวกนี้ก็ทำให้ เรารู้ว่าคนไทยกำลังเห่อต้นกระบองเพชรกันหนักมาก เราแปลกใจที่ภายในเวลาสามสี่ปีที่ผ่านมา คนมีความนิยมชมชอบการปลูกต้นกระบองเพชรกันมาก ตอนแรกเราเคยเห็นแค่กระถางน้อยๆ ที่ตั้งอยู่ตามโต๊ะในสำนักงานบ้าง ตามร้านกาแฟและร้านขายหนังสือ แต่เราไม่เคยคิดว่า ต้นกระบองเพชรจะเป็นที่นิยมโดยทั่วไปได้ จนในปีที่ผ่านมาเราไปเห็นต้นกระบองเพชรเป็นร้อยกระถาง วางขายที่ร้านขายต้นไม้ของเพื่อนที่ต่างจังหวัด เราก็ถามคนขายด้วยความสนใจว่า คนต่างจังหวัดหันมาเล่นต้นกระบองเพชรกันขนาดนี้เลยหรือ เขาจะขายหมดกด้ภายในหนึ่งเดือนหรือ พออาทิตย์ถัดไปเราไปแวะรับต้นไม้ที่สั่งไว้ก่อน เขาก็บอกว่าได้ขายต้นกระบองเพชรหมดเกลี้ยงเลยในหนึ่งสัปดาห์ เราก็ดีใจมากที่เขาไม่ขาดทุนเลย เรายิ่งมาเห็นของแต่งบ้าน เรียนแบบต้นกระบองเพชรมากมายขนาดนี้ ก็ยิ่งเป็นการยืนยันว่าตอนนี้คนหันมาชื่นชอบต้นกระบองเพชรกันมากจริงๆ

img_1297.jpg

img_1299.jpg

เราเริ่มจำได้ว่าเราเคยให้ต้นกระบองเพชรเพื่อนที่โรงเรียนต้นหนึ่งก่อนเราไปเรียนต่างประเทศ นี่เราไม่ได้เจอเพื่อนเก่าเลยตั้งแต่เราดลับมาบ้าน เราลืมไปเลย แทบไม่น่าเชื่อว่าเวลาและสภาพการณ์มี่ต่างกันมาก จะทำให้เราหลุดวงโคจรกันไปนานมาก ถ้าเพื่อนเรายังมีต้นไม้อยู่ด้วย มันจะต้องโตมากจนต้องใช้กระถางใหญ่มากๆ เราไม่รู้ว่าเพื่อนเก่าและต้นไม้เก่าเป็นอย่างไรบ้าง เราหวังใจว่าทั้งสองคงดำเนินชีวิตอย่างมีความสุขสงบท่ามกลางความไม่แน่นอนของชีวิต เราเองก็กวนคิดถึงว่า เราคงต้องรีบเตรียมตัวจัดการเรื่องราวต่างๆให้เข้าที่โดยเร็ว เราคิดว่าอนาคตอันใกล้นี้จะมีการเปลี่ยนแปลงแบบน่าตกใจหลายอย่าง เราคงต้องสวดมนต์ภาวนาให้มากกว่านี้ เราก็หวังใจว่าคุณงามความดีและกุศลผลบุญคงช่วยให้ผู้ปฎิบัติธรรมแคล้วคลาดจากภัยอันตรายทั้งปวง

img_1307.jpg

img_1353.jpg

img_1356.jpg

img_1348.jpg

img_1363.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Best.
[//]:# (!pinmapple 13.698023 lat 100.538004 long Shopping for cacti decorations at Rama3 d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency