Launchd

I've just learned today that Apple made this piece of software called launchd with a CLI called launchctl and it just doesn't work. No matter how you contort everything to maybe work, no matter what you throw at the wall...
And like, it won't tell you why it doesn't work. Funnily enough it says try a different command that gives more details on what wrong.

The comedy is the other command giving the exact same completely unhelpful output.

I just want to start Nginx with /abs/path/to/nginx -c /abs/path/to/config (undaemonized/in the foreground to be clear)

That's it.

I'm doing it on macOS for $reasons (Nginx when I run directly and in tmux works great zero issues, launchctl however decided that it should give me lemons with its input/output error lemonade.
I'm not running any kinda traditional Nginx, this is just running locally on my account only as a TCP proxy (not even HTTP)
Iunno id -u gives me a number and all my files are owned by that number so even with AD I don't see how things just flat out don't work rip.
Every single command (except for list failed with input/output error)
I checked system.log? and afaict nothing related to what I was doing was in there.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now