Sapere Aude - Dare to know

Sapere aude is a Latin phrase that means "dare to know" or "have the courage to use your own reason" . I have always been a lover of knowledge, and especially self-taught knowledge, I could not help falling in love with this phrase as soon as I came across it by pure serendipity . This beautiful idea was expressed for the first time by Horacio , one of the main Roman poets who wrote in Latin that is recorded, in his Epistle II .

It is understood that many universities use this phrase as a motto. It is also related to the era of the Enlightenment (I know it for Enlightenment), a historical period that is one of my favorites, because Kant in his essay What is the Enlightenment? He proposed the phrase as a motto that summarizes the entire period. Which was named for its declared purpose to dispel the darkness of humanity through the lights of Reason . The eighteenth century is known, for this reason, as the Century of Lights .

In my opinion, it is or can be used as a call to be encouraged to be curious, to think for oneself and question everything. Do not take anything for granted. Daring to be wise, also involves daring to learn, and learning how to be wise. That is why they refer to using as a filter, The human reason, the reason itself.

As I said, I see it as a call to embrace a self-taught attitude . To teach oneself To be curious with the outside world. The strength of that "incipe" says it all. Start now! And next to my other favorite Latin phrase "gnosce te ipsum ", are the two faces of self - learning. And if life has any meaning, some purpose, I am certainly convinced that it is that.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center