You bring about change with your votes. Next he needs a home!

This all started with a cobweb memory.

Juancito or Little John, translated they are the same.

This @done account was started as an investment. I curated posts for the first year and a half. When I reached 3000 followers (who knows why), I made a couple posts. This was only 4 months ago. You will see my Intro post, one about a business deal and the other about labels.

For some reason I felt like writing a series about this guy I knew five or six years back. I had not seen him in quite some time, but he had gone from living on a park bench to an apartment, possibly married.

Chronology of my posts on Little John

Little John part 1 (34 days ago)
Little John part 2
Little John part 3
Little John part 4
Little John part 5
Little John part 6
Little John part 7
Little John part 8 - The end.

The eighth part was the ending to the story as I remember it. Before posting it, I went to the park where Juancito used to live (lives today) and found him there, worse off than ever before. Part of the reason we had not seen each other in so long was because that particular park had been closed down, renovated, and reopened a year later - no sign of Little John - Juancito.

He is not my brother. We have never played poker together. He was just someone that I helped quite some time ago. Someone that I had watched as he climbed out of the mire and onto solid footing here on this planet.

When I saw him back at the park, I was devastated in my soul. I gave him enough to eat for a few days, spent several hours finding out how he ended up back outdoors, not published as of yet.

I will let him tell it when he is ready.

I asked his permission to make a video and take some pictures for help from the internet. He agreed, I shot some pictures of him, one video and found few others on his facespace account, then I stopped posting about him.

My last post on Juancito was...

Little John -Smack Down

That same day - Less than three weeks ago

I created @lvj for him. "La Vida de Juan" I asked the kids to reset an old tablet we had not been using. I installed a Steemit program, an electronic payment app, a bible, and other creature comforts. His posting started immediately! I helped a lot, but they are his.

We are one month into turning this around!



This is what he looks like today - Please support this DTube video & his account.


Below is a compilation of John's posts

These are posts by John and post by people who have taken an interest in his well being. Contributions from people like myself who want to see him succeed.

Introduce myself. I am Little John. Viste mi historia. (18 days ago)

Since that day, I have been slowly teaching how to use Android, obtain wireless internet for free, and given him a nice phone. He knows how to put credit on his phone via the RapidPay app I had put on it.


Right after Juancito's introduction post

@xpilar created an art piece dedicated to @lvj aka Little John.

xpilar.jpg

The artwork below. See the post here . (17 days ago0)

xpilarart.jpg


At the same time

@brothermax made bilingual post summarizing the journey of thins man we call Juancito.


Back to John's posts...

This is like Christmas in October. I am learning Steemit

Lunes 15 de octubre - Ahora en castellano

@lvj - Juan Spanish 15 Oct. Video

Catching by surprise. New Clothes. Your votes changed to cash.

The above were clothes that I bought that did not quite fit his "little" body. We have been shopping since then.

El primero con amigos.

DTube Video. New Clothes! Ropa nueva que me queda bien!

The above was about the clothes I had found at the big and tall store.

Five Minutes for a Friend - Cinco Minutos para una Amiga

People stop to see him all the time. I am amazed how many know his name and he knows all of theirs. With new clothes on, he was allowed to sit near the car wash and have coffee with me.
(he was not allowed inside at this point yet)


stef1post.jpg

Above is by @stef1 who stopped by after creating this portrait of our friend. Click this link to support her post. Below is her work!

juancito.jpg


Back to John's posts...

Two Minutes for a Friend - Dos Minutos para un Amigo

One Minute for a friend - Un Minuto con una Amiga (yesterday)

Two Minutes for a Friend - Dos Minutos para un Amigo (last night)

He knows how to vote, resound, and check his wallet.

For now, I take the videos, he takes the pictures and sends them to me. He also speaks into my phone - voice to text - so that his posts are his own. (he has not learned to make a post yet).

As soon as he has clean clothes...

A clean appearance, and self respect, then the posting lessons can begin at a restaurant where it is quiet, without buses screaming past. Oops.

That day happened last night.


Link to DTube
Link to IPFS

Links to the same DTube as the cover photo

Little John - A Night with Dignity

We walked to the mall, sat in a restaurant and people said things like, "What can I get you sir?" to him.

coffeeshopls.jpg

Juan1

juan2


shoes

After we had finished with coffee and a snack, we walked the mall, his head held high.

Normally he would be told to leave or have security remove him. Not because of drinking or drugs, he does not do those things. Just for being poor and having worn out clothing. Now he is able to pick what he wants - much thanks to all who vote for him here and give him hope.

We shopped for a jacket that fits him, it has a hood to keep his head warm now that he has shed his natural weather protections. We found pants his size and some new shoes, the kind he likes.

This is where I left him last night, four blocks from where he parks himself every night. He had only run into a few people that recognized him. Let me tell you, they were shocked at the change, but all smiled and either fist bumped him or greeted him with a kiss on the cheek which is customary here.

I have not stopped receiving texts about the reactions from Juancito telling me of the reactions he gets from people. He tells me that the same police that gave him problems on Saturday now greet him with a nod, "Good day."

donenight.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
136 Comments
Ecency