Power suction


Link

My name is Frace Malinov. I am one of the crowd of people in this office, doing certain jobs which are required to be done.

My day started this morning. Right outside of our very high building, there is a police post, which is staffed by office workers. As you know we all work at this company employing thousands of people here. For the past few months, the police have had a few problems. Criminals are taking advantage of these high-security areas and they are committing these crimes.

This morning I had awoken with a bad night's sleep. I felt jaded, which is an apt descriptor for my day. I groaned and leaned back in my chair. I banged my head on the desk, but I couldn't get any more rest, because my mind wouldn't shut down. I lay in bed for what seemed like hours, getting no relief, and no peace.

I got up eventually and prepared for the day. I showered, took a few cups of coffee and breakfast. I was hoping to go to my office and focus the next few hours on my work, but as the day passed, it was apparent that I couldn't. I was looking for more comfort, but I felt that I was lacking in that department. My job was wonderful, I knew that, but I had been stuck in misery for the past few months. I became depressed, and found my focus wavering.

I was only twenty-years old, and I was feeling far older than that. I had just completed university, and had secured a great job in one of the most secure places in the country. My long term goal was to become the CEO of this company, but my depression was consuming me. I had no energy to work, I had no desire to make my life challenging and I didn't have the passion to stay.

The only place that I was gaining any sort of attention was in the company gym. There I wasn't depressed by the world and there I could truly focus my mind and body. I was never depressed working out, only when I had to face the world.

"Hey Frace, have you heard about the criminals committing all of these acts?" My friend Mia asked me. She was a self-centred girl, and she saw the world through the lenses of her own problems. The fact that they were real, that was the only reason why she cared.

"Don't bring it in, Mia. There is no point in ruining my day." I replied.

"Sorry, I forgot how down you were." Mia replied to me.

Mia's comments stuck in my mind. I knew that she was driving me mentally insane, she was starting to sound like a broken record in my mind. My insomnia was not helping me either.

I love MegaTrol, it had been the best treatment for depression that I had ever taken. It was a drug that worked, and the only side effects were that you were sleeping. This was a superb drug. The drawback was that the company found out about us.

MegaTrol didn't work for everyone, it took a certain type of personality, and it worked for me. It was a short-acting drug that only affected you when you needed it to. This way, there wasn't a long-term effect. I was pretty sure that I was just drinking to make myself feel better.

"It's nice that you have everything you want in life, Frace. I wish that I had your life." Her statement was harsh.

"Thanks, Mia." I replied to her.

"Hey, just thought I'd check in with you, Frace." Mia said to me.

"I'm staying in the company gym today." I replied.

"You know Frace, today is my day off. Do you want to hang out and have some girls' day out sometime?" Mia's strange mood change unsettled me.

It was sweet of her to ask. I was only twenty-years old and somehow I found myself with a girl who was a few years older than me.

"Yeah, sure." I answered back.

"Cool. Does anyone here have Fitbit?" Mia asked me.

"Yes, I do." I replied.

"Let's call it a Girls Day Out, then." Mia replied.

"Sounds good, what about The Lover in the Darkness." A voice came from the end of the room remarking that it was good that we were going to spend time together. I looked towards the door and saw a man in a suit standing there. I knew instantly who he was.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency