the wolf of the ice kingdom


Link

I wasn't supposed to survive the night. I knew that.

The young wolf cub didn't tell me this when we played hide-and-seek with the other cubs in the snow. He didn't remind me when we snuck downstairs in the dark, the temperature dropping faster than the stone atop the wall. He didn't whisper in my ear when we tiptoed, made a path of new snow for all the others, but preferred to take the main route. When I nudged him away from the other wolves, he didn't protest as we entertained ourselves with a game of tag in the dark.

I was young and foolish that year.

I played the game along with him. And then I played the game alone.

The wolves bade their farewells and I was left alone. I didn't know then that they were not friends, and I made a promise to myself that I would obey my pack, my family.

This was the first game of hide-and-seek I played alone.

A day and a half passed and the wolves weren't back. I didn't eat for a whole day. The snow was beginning to melt, but I could smell wolf blood atop the snow banks. The smell was faint and only a few times did I follow the scent, but the blood trail ended.

I waited and then I waited.

I survived the cold that year because of my love to my family. I finally left the den and scanned the environment, my pads dragging in the new snow as I absentmindedly followed the blood trail and left tracks behind.

They were gone. And so was I.

The den was on a hill, situated at the top of rock and ice. I ran to the flat side and it was there that I saw it. The moon was bright and full, shining her rays upon me in the dead of night. People and houses resided somewhere behind her, but I couldn't see them, nor did I know whose fault that was. I didn't ask anymore.

I entered the pack den, my eyes shut against the light and with my nose raised as to let my noses know that I wasn't a threat. I stood up on my hind legs and tried to look bigger than most of the wolves in the den, that would be the first thing that I should have done.

I was lucky the second time.

I was lucky because my eyes had adjusted to the light. When I had entered the den, it was black as pitch. Now, there were seven wolves in the dark, poised and ready. I felt the presence of a fourth wolf near the far side of the den, but didn't bother to turn and see who it was .

The second wolf charged at me first, as did the third and fourth. I leapt forward, my eyes squeezing shut once more and with my ears pinned back as to avoid being bitten when I ran down my attacker.

I heard the cries of pain and the sound of three wolves scattering. I opened my eyes and saw the wolves limping away, their backs hunched and their heads bowed. It was then that I showed my teeth and growled, the sound bouncing off the walls and scaring the rest of the pack away. I was now alone with a wolf that was watching me from the side.

This was the third game of hide-and-seek I played alone.

I waited for almost two hours for the wolves to return. I didn't know why they didn't come back, but when they didn't, I left and began to adapt to the world.

The young wolf returned that night, to see me sleeping. I had left the den to find myself a shelter, and that shelter was a janitor's closet that was located in a building with a bunch of rooms. That was my den for five weeks.

It took two weeks for me to finally meet the wolf cub, who I was surprised found me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency