The world of the perfect self

1608470288184.jpg

Hello I am RYO!

I based on my beliefs, I will decline for the rewards. About my beliefs👇

I regained my true heart
@ryo-6414/i-regained-my-true-heart

This is the process for the next chapter of my manga.

CamScanner 08-31-2020 15.59.57_108.jpg

I started to decline a reward on my artwork about a month ago.
That decision has been a very good one for me.

I don't like my life's work to be done with a simple Vote (Like).
And while I appreciate the positive comments, they have nothing to do with my power source.

If you are truly doing what you love, your motivation will not be affected by the praise and recognition of those around you.
I have realized this very much in the past month.

Now I am able to draw manga in a very relaxed way.
As I recall, when I was a kid, I had only one younger sibling as a reader for my manga.
But my drawing speed was so fast that I enjoyed it the most.

CamScanner 07-04-2020 22.09.03_58.jpg
(The manga I drew when I was 12)

We all have a "perfect self" when we are children.
However, as we grow up, we are inculcated with the boring ideas and values of adults, and we grow up with an "unnatural self".

Comparison and competition kill the "perfect self" of a person.

When I was a child, I dreamed of becoming a mangaartist but I realized that it was a completely wrong dream.
A cartoonist is like an athlete.
Only the best and the most competitive can become one.

But I do not want to live in such a competitive society.
The purpose of evaluations and awards is to make people compete with each other.
It is fundamentally the same as the eugenics ideas of Nazi Germany.

Well, I may be a bit extreme in my statements.
If I hurt you, I apologize.

But by competing, many people suffer.
Less than 1% of the hundreds of thousands or millions of people in any given category will gain an advantage from competition.
What's the point of aiming for the 1% if you have to give up the "perfect self" you already had as a child?
I don't think so.

1607782247426.jpg
(-MAYA of the Ayakashi:妖-)

So I'd rather enjoy the "perfect self" I've already got than compete with someone else to beat them and be in the 1%.
Once we get our "perfect self" back, we don't have to compete.
We don't need to compete because it has a great value of 1 in 7 billion to begin with.

I am not looking for fame (popularity) or rewards, because the world of my 1 in 7 billion self is already perfect.

…Alright, by the way I have been thinking about another comic.

I've actually had an idea for a new manga since last year (2019) around February.

One of the manga (anime) I love the most is Digimon Adventure.
The current Digimon is a remake version, but there was a previous Digimon sequel "Digimon tri".
Unfortunately, it was of such poor quality…
So I wanted to draw it in my own version.

And this is some of my work on it👇

CamScanner 07-04-2020 22.09.03_59.jpg

I used to draw this until about May last year, when I stopped because I wanted to draw my own original manga(It's -Jingi- at that time).

But this year, Digimon Adventure's masterpiece movie Last Evolution was released, and now a remake version is airing on TV.

CamScanner 07-04-2020 22.09.03_50.jpg
(It's my past artwork)

Digimon is getting back to being a hot again so I thinking about restarting my Digimon manga.
But I'm enjoying drawing Maya's story right now, and since double-working on manga is very time-consuming, there's a chance that both manga will be half-done.

It's hard for me to choose double work to enjoy my "perfect self".

But the reason I'm telling this story here is that I think everyone should enjoy free expression.

The only person I have ever told about my Digimon manga is one of my closest friends.
This is because I believed that in a competitive society, if I can't provide perfect work, I shouldn't make it public.

But I must emphasize it again.
Now I'm not in competition with anyone, and I don't want anyone's recognition, praise, or great commendation.
I don't care if I get zero Vote (Like) or comments.

I just enjoy drawing and posting about what I love.

So I just wrote about how I love and enjoy Digimon and manga work so much that I draw Digimon manga.

Now, Maya's story has a lot of touches from Digimon and other works I loved as a kid, like Dragon Ball and Gegege no Kitaro.

I'm really looking forward to drawing them with my creativity.

1607788254868.jpg

All my pictures are copyrighted to me, so if you want to share any of my pictures, please mention my profile link(@ryo-6414) along with it

Thank you for reading!
Arigatou gozaimashita!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency