Mixed feelings on a friday

I had to think twice if I would even write this down on Steemit, but since I write almost about anything on steemit I do want to share this post.

When we were at the campsite with my kids on Soccer camp my oldest noticed a spot on my back which was looking a bit awkward, when he told my I looked in the mirror but all I could see was this dark spot, it was a birthmark which was colored different then usual. I have had birthmarks all over the place and in the past some were removed out of precaution because it can cause skincancer when they are evolving.

When we came home after the weekend my wife had a look and made a picture to show it to me. That was all we did for the moment. My wife had a appointment with her dermatologist where she was chitchatting about some stuff including my awkward birthmark, the dermatologist asked if she could see the picture, so my wife did.
When she saw the picture she advised to see my general practitioner to judge if the birthmark was suspicious, and she said not to wait to long with that. So when she came home she told me that so I called my general practitioner the next day. So last tuesday I went to see her and she acknowledged her worries too. She sended me over to the hospital to see a dermatologist , she said that it could be a melanoma. I was quiet in shock but she tried to comfort me that it isn't sure yet and even when it is that it can be removed / cured.

When I arrived at home, an half a hour later I got called by the hospital for a appointment, they speed things up a little. So friday I had to come into the hospital. The dermatologist inspected my whole body if there were any other strange birthmarks, but there weren't thank god. She told that the particular birthmark could very well be a melanoma and that she wanted to remove it right away to take no risks further. The removed tissue would be send over to the labratory to be researched in cancer cells. The sweet lady asked if I was shocked, I said that it did shock me a little but that I am still not sure what it is so I would looking forward to the results of the research.
I got local anastesia in my back and we went to the operating room to remove the dam thing.

It turned out that I got 12 stiches and that she removed quiet a lot of tissue. She also told me that if the result is positive, a melanoma, she have to do this again around the piece she have already removed... I don't care as long as the can get it out.....

72ws2yjqym.png

Everthing went smoothly, I still was quiet normal about it. I still am not sure if it is bad, or worse...so why make my self crazy thinking about all the worst case scenario's. But you know what, you do that anyway, at least I did. Yesterday after the hospital visit I started to think about all the bad things that can come out of this, what if I do get cancer, what if it isn't curable.... Crazy isn't it, but it turns my stomache... This will be continued and lets hope for the best or least worse....

So to get my mind set on something different my good friend Rien took me to a Whiskey Festival here in Vorden. A nice and cozy festival with dozens of different Whiskey's and distillers.. I have to say, it helped getting my mind on other things for a while.

jmgbzagcxq.png

When we arrived there were about 250 people, you pay entrance fee and can taste all kinds of whiskey for free.

iqo963zdxf.png

ukmek9s9jk.png

I even got myself a haircut by a real barber.

k7des9fd8k.png

I am thankful to Rien for taking my mind of this strange day for a bit...
I doesn't change the insecureness , but it was great. I have to wait for two weeks to finally get the results of the research...fingers crossed...

Take care,

Peter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency