This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

The hitchhiker

comrade-2280932_640.jpg

As soon as I got my driver's license, the first thing my father told me was to never ever take any hitchhikers and told me some terrifying stories about people that disappeared , got murdered and raped so that got me scared enough to follow this advice.

On my island I live on a mountain if I want to go to town I have to go through a small colorful neighborhood where I always slow down because there are kids playing and the goats and chickens roam the street. The houses are colorful from orange to ocean blue and some are over a hundred years old and have an Indian Head sculpture on the facade of the house to honor their ancestors.

I must have a good reason to go down the mountain and I combine all things I have to do, and do it all at ones with one trip to town.
Yesterday I went down the mountain to pick up some friends to bring them to the airport. When I passed the small neighborhood there was a lady beside the road waving at me. I waved back.

After 20 minutes I went back home and took the only road up the mountain and passed the small neighborhood again.
The lady was still there, I drove by her because it didn't look like she needed a ride somewhere. A few streets further I changed my mind and I turned around to go back.
"Do you have to go somewhere?" Yes she said and instantly climb into my car. Where do you have to go? "To the resort" she said. "Okay I'll take you there".
I started a conversation. Ëverything okay with the family? YES!
With the children? YES.
There is a lot of wind today. YES!
Did you hear about all the seaweed that is on the shores? YES.
Did you have macaroni with haring yesterday? YES.
I didn't really think she had any idea what I was talking about.

You've been standing there for a long time right? Yes she said but nobody stopped, they make gestures at me, I move my hand up and down and people get angry.

"Do you raise your hand and move it up and down"? Yes!
I said if you put your hand up and down it means that you want drivers to reduce their speed. If you want a ride somewhere you have to raise up your thumb.
"Thumb? Yes your thumb! Like this and I stick up my thumb to show her how to hitchhike. "What time do you have to be at work"? She was already half an hour late, she had to catch up and stay longer to fill up the lost time. I brought her to the resort and told her to remember. Thumbs up next time okay, don't forget? "Yes"she said.

picture from Pixabay.