The Day-to-Days - My 2023 update on life

Let me enlighten you what's been going on in my life

I am writing this from my bed. I am in the middle of it because there's the space to chill in the middle of it - my partner is in Switzerland for business but she's coming back tonight - just in time to watch Barbie. We're going to see Barbie with a group of friends and I have my pink outfit ready! Also just in time for Pride, which is tomorrow. I am psyched for this weekend.

header.png

I am wearing glasses, I generally do not wear glasses but since I've had an eye infection I am not allowed to wear contacts - it's sad though and highly annoying. Now thinking of it, I should pick up my new eyedrops from the pharmacy.

My Nintendo Switch is laying beside me. At the beginning of this year, a friend introduced me to Fortnite and I've been playing it occasionally ever since. It is a bit of my guilty pleasure. Earlier this year I played Stardew Valley and Let's Go Pikachu. The latter, blew my mind. Absolutely loved the nostalgia in a new coat and my soul left my body to celebrate when I realized I could fly over towns on my Charizard.

Meeko is laying inside the wardrobe. She chose that as her new spot, I guess because it feels protected. Soon, she'll need to find a new spot though, as we're planning to install doors on it and she won't be able to access the wardrobe anymore.

pic.png

Why doesn't our wardrobe have doors (yet)? We moved! Last May we moved from Mitte, Berlin to Prenzlauer Berg, Berlin. We desperately needed a bigger living space. Thanks to my former colleague, we managed to get this place and we are in love with it. We went from 50m2 to 77m2, have a dedicated working space now (instead of our desks right next to the bed) and a balcony facing south. The neighborhood is amazing, we're surrounded by restaurants and the connections to the rest of the city are perfectly fine. We're close to the park too, which is very nice on a warm summer day. We have few boxes left and our curtains came down the other day - I know, the rod literally split in the middle of the night.

Summer! This summer we had/have plenty of weddings. Two down, two more to go. We also went to Santorini, Greece. It was great! We drank loads of wine and ate loads of food. I could actually post about that.

pic.png

In a bit, I should get started with work. I am still a product designer but I switched jobs. I started at the beginning of the month and so far I am enjoying it! I've had a super warm welcome, which was meant more to me than I thought it would. It's a company in climate tech and there's loads for me to learn as it's a new industry. Also, last night we just hung out with a few colleagues. We went for loaded fries, B&J ice cream and then to Monsterkabinett - if you haven't been, it's very interesting and I liked it! I don't want to say much about it because the best experience is to be surprised. We ended the evening with craft beers and I walked 30 minutes home.

Speaking of fries, I am still not doing exercise. I really should. I tried to cut down on carbs for the past few days but messed up yesterday. Oops. If I could make myself do 5 minutes of yoga, cut down on bread, rice and potatoes, eat less beef, I'd be happy already. My partner has been asking to do squash - I could try that, I heard you get a great ass from that.

Thanks to @lizanomadsoul I am writing this post. Not because she asked me to, but because I was reminded of the amazing people that I've met here in the past few years. I have been struggling with becoming active again, but maybe a yearly update sufficient.

I love you all, life is busy but I haven't forgotten you. Thanks @varunpinto @lizanomadsoul and @gandalf for touching base every once in awhile.

div-short.png

My name is Shannon, I am a product designer. Born and raised in Amsterdam, living in Berlin.
I write about travel, HIVE, design, food, life and any thoughts I have!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency