I witnessed the ocean erupt with dolphins! A MEGA-POD

On a guided tour to explore an active volcano by boat and then on foot, we wittenessed a dolphin Mega-Pod. It was one of the most surreal things I have encountered in the wild.


We had only ventured about an hour from the coastline when my partner and I saw a dolphin jumping in the distance. We proceeded to inform the tour operator and he slowed the boat down for us to get a better look. Coming around 180 degrees we struggled to see anything in the water. 

Just as I was starting to feel like the dick head who stopped the tour boat for nothing, somebody shouted out that they could see a dolphin. This video shows how quickly the ocean changed from no wild life, to bursting with dolphins. Sorry about any quality issues with the video itself, it was my first  edit with new software. Also the wind on the boat was unbearable to listen to due to my phone microphone. So I have just replaced the audio with some simulated wind sound. Please look past the quality and really enjoy the epic display of a MEGA-POD!


This was an amazing experience for me personally, there was so much more activity than the video can convey. They were surfacing everywhere around us, skimming past the side of the boat, there little sonar sounds could be heard through the water when we slowed down. The tour operator mentioned that the pod was roughly the number of dolphins you can see on the surface times four to include the ones under the water. There were at least 300 surfacing at some points so the pod was above 1000 dolphins. They continued to follow us at a distance for probably quarter of an hour or so after the video stops. We were also privy to some flying fish skimming the surface on our departure from the volcano, which was a first for my partner. I will share the volcano experience in another post I am working on.

Thanks for taking the time to have a peek!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency