Please Help My Family Feed the Homeless

Early this month I shared that my daughters' want to buy and distribute cookies to the local homeless. Bloomington has a considerable homeless community. We are not immune to deaths on the street on cold Winter nights. In the past, my children and I have donated clothing and toys for homeless children, distributed food by solicitation through local bakeries and have provided fresh coffee when we pass someone who needs and wants a warm beverage. In addition, through an initiative at their school, we have helped create packets of socks, wipes, toothpaste, lotion, soap and more items the community here indicated they need. Now we want to distribute joy.

ben-hershey-471960.jpg
Image Credit

There is one hitch, but this post helps us overcome it: In order for my troop to donate to the homeless, the girls have to buy those cookies themselves. There is already a national donation system in place to the troops. Plenty of people have donated directly to U.S. troops. Unfortunately, we cannot legally solicit cookie purchases for the homeless on our forms or at our booths. Thus this post. So keep reading.

We believe that everyone, no matter their financial circumstances, deserves relaxation. Girl Scout Cookies are a well-love treat. Because Girl Scouts are a community-oriented non-profit, it makes perfect sense to buy cookies for the homeless, shelters or local pantries. Cookie sales also benefit the girls' troops, allowing them STEM and camp experiences they've been craving. That makes this a win-win-win-win!

We have already earned 10.058 SBD for my initial post about this project. As of right now, that means we have raised $73.22 USD in cookie money. Cookies are $4-5 per box. We are at 16 boxes!

We really want to get that number to 200 boxes. For that reason, I will be turning ALL SBD EARNED FOR THIS POST into cookies for the homeless as well. When we get to 200 boxes, I will donate an extra 10 boxes per child (20 boxes total) to the local women's shelter. It just so happens one of my Daisy scouts is daughter to the local housing coordinator for the homeless, so DISTRIBUTION IS PLANNED AND A GO!

This will necessarily be my last fundraiser post for this project as cookie sales will come to a close shortly after payout on this post. My daughters and I would love your support.

fall family -19.jpg
image by @jealousyjane

All it takes is an upvote and a resteem.

Comments are wonderful as they also help the post pick up speed, so share your favorite type of cookie. I'll take that into account when I put in the final order.

I know we can count on Steemit to help us feed the homeless!

And if you'd like to order cookies for yourself or to distribute to those in need, here are the girls' online shops:

River's Cookie Shop

Violet's Cookie Shop

Thank you, friends. Homelessness is a global issue. Our community thanks yours for your contributions.

xoxo,

Shawna

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency