Gramma Has Been Busy, But Not Scribbling

It has been nearly six weeks since I last posted on Hive, and it has been nearly five weeks since my latest grandchild was born. Little Miss C. arrived on Aug. 16th, 8# 6 oz, and 19" long. Her mother had requested that I be present at the birth, and it was an amazing experience to see my own "baby" give birth to her own baby. It all seems a little unreal as I remember it now.


20210827_080527_1.jpg

The swaddle came from a thrift store; that's not where she had the baby. We have two such swaddles and love them!

My daughter has a tiny apartment in the city of Spokane, Washington, about an hour's drive from where I live. I have been staying with her most of the time since she gave birth, sleeping on an airbed in the corner by the door with my feet sticking into the kitchen. It's close quarters, impossible to get away from the noise generated by an unhappy infant. On the other hand, it's only a few steps to fetch anything that needs to be fetched.

I have spent 2 or 3 days at home each week, catching up in the garden and around the house. One or two garden posts will be written, eventually, with the photos I've taken. We all came up to my house this week, and the change of scenery has been good for mommy and baby alike. Miss C. is just starting to stare around at the world with apparent interest, and this evening she spent 45 minutes exercising her arms and legs and not screaming about anything. Progress!!!

My daughter has had a rough recovery. Hopefully she will feel much better soon, and then I can spend more time at home and write more Hive posts. I really prefer to do it on my computer, and she has no internet service where she lives. Until then: Hive on!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency