The silent treatment

There is so much going on in my mind right now and I'm trying my best to write my personal experience on silent treatment. In which I am a giver.

"Being ignored, causes the same chemical reaction in the brain, as physical injury."

Silence is a very powerful tool of communication. As I am seeing it, people are using it when they're angry, if they want to manipulate with someone (lover or a family member) or in my case, they want to protect themselves from being hurt.

182837_3812901876293_1412823719_n.jpg

I can clearly remember myself as a teenager giving my father silent treatment after a fight, always about the same things. Hormones are wild and you think you know what's best for you. You want to go out and party like a mad man while parents want you to stay home, be a good girl and study. No boys, no alcohol, no skipping classes. Or in my head : "Blah, blah, blah, I'm not talking to you."

But this isn't about that little naive silent treatment which ends 30 minutes later because I knew that my parents love me and they care about me. This is about something different and deeper.

734450_10200332612413159_941874306_n.jpg

I've coped with social anxiety my whole life and still sometimes during the conversation happens that a trigger (word, sentence) instantly shuts me down and swings me into the bad mood. It makes me want to run away from the world, myself and my mind.

I don't want it, take it back.

That happend a lot during the last two years. I've changed. I'm not that happy person always making plans, always creating. I am scared. My biggest problem is that I care a lot about comfort of other people. People who I love or people who are family. I don't want to make them sad. So I choose silence instead of words, silence is my defence mechanism.

My trigger for shutting down and giving silent treatment non intentionally, to one specific person, was living in a different family and watching one bad breakup influences and slowly destroys my relationship. It was that, or big, messy words. Red, angry words.

I don't want to be silent. I want to talk.
But sometimes the words are simply not there.

My relationship is my holy grail. A sacred place in which I am always safe even running from myself. So when seriously threatened, everything went quiet.

10513530_10203789303788283_1309037792597875868_n.jpg

I've learned from that a lot. Instead of being silent I am always engaging in small talks. Deep breathing and saying whatever comes to my mind. It makes me cringe sometimes but if that makes other person happy, I am ok with that. :)


Sometimes silence is not violence. It's a wound.
It's a storm inside someone's head.

Choose your words wisely when someone goes silent.


Love,
S.

(all photographs are mine)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now