The most useful skill I posses

pexels-kat-jayne-568025.jpg

I can say that I have quite a few skills that I acquired throughout my life, and a lot of them revolve around technology.

I can repair computers, I can repair phones, I can code a bit, script a bit, do some graphic design, do some video editing, writing, and a few others.

I know how to do all those things because I've always been a curious person, and I always loved technology. Whenever people asked me "Do you know how this program works" or "Do you know how to fix this problem", I usually answer "Not yet", if I actually don't know, and then I begin googling.

But although I know all those things, and although I'm a curious person by nature and I like to learn new skills all the time, there is one in particular that helped me throughout my life almost every time I used it.

I know how to keep my mouth shut.

Believe me, knowing how to shut up and to not say what I actually want to say saved my skin more times than I can count, or at least kept me out of ugly situations. If nothing serious was at stake, well, at least it helped me not embarrass myself.

There have been many times in which a topic was discussed by people I was with, and some of the things they were saying seemed stupid, or crazy, or completely wrong. At those moments I wanted to say something, to correct them with the little knowledge I had. Often, it turned out that they were right, and I was wrong, and by keeping my mouth shut, not only did I not embarrass myself, but I also learned a few things.

There have been many moments in which I got annoyed or angry because of what someone said to me, or because of what they did, even if at first it didn't seem like a big deal. It also doesn't help that I excessively overthink everything, and all the time. Keeping my mouth shut in those moments helped me avoid countless useless arguments and fights that would've been the result of nothing but my misunderstanding of the words or actions of a specific person, and also the result of too much overthinking and imagination.

Finally, keeping my mouth shut means everybody around had to be the ones talking, which almost always worked in my favor. When other people talk, I learn things, either about them, their opinions, or just random facts that I might not know. Really, the easiest way to get to know a person, what they like, what they dislike, what makes them happy and what annoys them, is to simply shut up and let them talk, either to you, or someone else. And then you just have to listen. You'll learn more about them than if you'd ask them questions directly.

All in all, being quiet and not opening my mouth too much helped me throughout the entirety of my life.

There are, of course, exceptions, situations in which being quiet will do more harm then if you'd say something. Being the witness of injustice, rudeness or lack of common sense and saying something might benefit you, or those around you. Being the victim of wrongful accusations and not saying anything might make others think you are quiet because you know those accusations are true, even if they are not. In that case, defending yourself is the right thing to do. The examples can keep going.

It is up to you to decide when to be quiet and when to say something. However, whenever you're faced with that dilemma, you need to stop and think hard about whether saying something is worth it, and if being quiet won't simply serve you better.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency