This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

I Think the Arts Are Welcome Here

I don't know why I'm still so passionate about this place. And by "place" I mean, Hive.

I've retired from quite a few things and writing about Hive was one of them, quite awhile ago.

This one will be a little different because it's coming straight from my heart.

A History Lesson

First, I must admit I'm not much of an art connoisseur but like many, I enjoy entertainment.

Comedy, music, games, movies. It's all art. All that creative shit I used to do; art as well. And I taught myself.

You're all out there writing articles. I think the word "art" is in that word, for a reason.

Creatives in general. They invented this world we all share. Many of you reading this probably created something today. It's even in the food you eat.

Creative people are important.

Eight years ago, on this platform, we were all noobs. Feeling our way around in the dark. No clue what we were doing but now it's eight years later and here we are.

I admit, I don't make a good "community member" or whatever. I'd enjoy mingling with people attending Hive Fest right now. Always wanted to do those things but at the same time, I'd probably just be outside, smoking, and looking at the world while everything else is going on.

Creating my own experience.

That's my natural method of being. In life, I'm often polite, can be quite social at times. Can do the meet and greet but probably won't say much since it's better if I give others the floor. I don't like to be center of attention.

It just happens, so I need to do things to avoid it, like standing off to the side, having a smoke.

These days, I spend most of my time alone. My life and health are not 100% but I insist I'll be fine, so don't ask, because you won't get an answer. Don't like to focus on problems so instead, living through them is all I need right now.

I can also be quiet.

I didn't intend to break the internet.

Again...

That was just a silly joke I always wanted to perform. I seriously thought it would fly under the radar. And I was not aware people get downvoted for stuff like that these days. I had no clue it was frowned upon here.

I come from a different time.

And I wouldn't be here today had I not been given those opportunities.

Maybe "given" is the wrong word, since we're in charge of ourselves here.

The opportunities were not taken from me.

I come from a time when I wrote a joke, all these people I didn't know showed up, and had a good time. Plus some rare support rolled in, upvote style.

The next day I woke up and my reputation score seemed a lot lower than normal.

My posts were downvoted.

Then all those people I didn't know came back again and fixed it. So I carried on, and made a promise to myself I'd always stand up for the arts here. They had my back, so it's only fair.

I thought the only way for me to find any measure of success here was to stand out from the crowd.

So, for years I combined the shittiest digital art with the corniest jokes I could think of. Strangely enough, some people liked the art and enjoyed the humor. So I tried to get better at both, daily.

I'm quite fond of those memories.

I come from a time.

When it came to legitimate artists and creativity, there was no reason to be afraid. Could do whatever you want, or, at least that's what I thought, because that's what I did, and the response encouraged me to continue, every time.

Everything I did was for myself, and the people interested in it. That was never a problem.

I'm not going to apologize for writing a joke. Instead I'm going to encourage everyone here to stop living in fear of downvotes.

If you're truly creative, funny, and driven to succeed, just go for it. Live by your own rules. Impress yourself then share it with the world. Give them a reason to smile.

This is my final post and those are my final wishes for this place.

I tried. I don't have it in me anymore, but I'd still like to see others enjoy the same opportunities I had.

Enjoy yourselves.

And thank you, everyone. I mean that, so much. Thank you.

I want to build this place up. Not burn it down.

Peace