Get to know me challenge - day 4 - earliest childhood memory.

hqdefault.jpg

Today's prompt is earliest childhood memory This one is a little bit more difficult for me because I don't remember a lot of my childhood. Ask me why? I don't really have an answer for you. The good thing about my childhood, is that I was born in 1991, so I was kind of born in the nineties and grew up in the 2000s. And back in the 90s and early 2000s my father would carry around a giant video camera, kind of like this one down below.

1251867_100924221039_00_198a.jpg

And he filmed everything. He filmed birthday parties, family events, Christmas, holidays, and even just sitting at home and hanging out. I always have the chance to go back to those videos and look at them growing up so I never not remember parts of my life.

It Is also hard for me to just pick one earliest childhood memory that I like the most. So I decided that I would filter through at least three of them today. First one being obviously, Christmas

c99400297eb86a51631c64c0c267f6ce.jpg

In my family, we're Ukrainian. So if you know any ukrainians at Christmas, they're really big into a big green Christmas tree with lots of bright coloured lights and mismatched Christmas ornaments tinsel and fun wrapped presents underneath. There's no Rhyme or Reason, no colour coordination. Just anything and everything. Christmas Eve was normally spent on my mom's side of the family, and we would all go to one of my auntie's house for a meatless dinner, and then we would open presents and go to midnight mass. Meatless dinner was always really good, my uncle is a fisherman and he would go fishing in the summertime and he would catch pickeral for us to eat at Christmas Eve. He would cook it a couple different ways and it was always delicious. Eventually midnight mass at church turned into 10 o'clock mass, and sometimes even 8 o'clock Mass. Christmas day we would open up the presents santa brought us, with just my mom and dad and my brother at home. In the morning my dad would make breakfast and that would be the extent of my Christmas.

My next childhood memory, I think would be my childhood bedroom. Absolutely loved being in my bedroom I can tell you that I'm sure of. I do remember that it was all baby pink I had a canopy bed. What kid doesn't want a canopy bed! I want one now that I'm 28 years old (mostly to hang plants off of). But I thought it was the nicest thing ever, I felt like a little princess in my little pink castle. I had lots of stuffed animals, and always had fun playing by myself in my bedroom.

girls-canopy-bed-decorating-childrens-beautiful-princess-for-little-sets.jpg

The third and final, but not least, earliest memory that I have is whenever there was a spring break, Christmas break, summer break, my parents always made a point of going somewhere other than the house. But staying in the city. So what that means is, we would usually go to a hotel for two nights that had a swimming pool and water slides. It was like a vacation away from home but in our hometown. And then on the off-chance we would actually always go to Grand Forks for some reason. It's funny if I look back in my mother's scrapbook of her and my dad dating, they always went to Grand Forks for little anniversaries or little cute romantic trips together. So it's obvious that they would have taken us to Grand Forks as well. Another side note, I live in Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada. So Grand Forks, North Dakota is only a hop skip and jump away from us. It's about a three-hour Drive. So a lot of us here go to Grand Forks for a little trip away from home.

Grand-Forks-ND1.jpg

This post was a little hard to make. I had to think a lot about it. But all in all I think I did pretty well! I'd like to hear some of your earliest childhood memories if you pop by and read my post. Unfortunately I don't have any actual photos from my life, all of my photos are packed away at my mom's house. But I did find some corresponding stock photos on Google for you guys.

I will see you guys tomorrow, bright and early, and tomorrow's prompt is my guilty pleasure!

XOXO,
MM

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency