Do You Follow Trends Because They Are Cool? Why? Who Told You, You Had To?

Do you follow trends?

tacky.jpg

What an interesting thing to think about! throughout HISTORY, there have been MANY MANY trends that have started, stayed or simply ...died. From tie dye clothing in the 60's to leg warmers in the 80's, and even track suits in the 90's! Some of those trends come in and out, were in year 2020 and for quite some times the trend of "high waist-ed pants" & "platform shoes" are making a comeback. Hell, I wore Snap pants in the early 2000's.

Let me take it back just a bit as to WHY this topic sparked something inside of me to want to write about it! The other day I was out shopping with a friend of mine. You know at the till of a store, they have like CHEAP items .. "1.00$ lip gloss" or "only 4.00$ for a a grab bag" ... you get the point. Well, at this particular place of service, They had an abundance of jewelry, cheap jewelry to browse, which included CHOKER'S!!! Remember Chokers (if your from late 80's and 90's you 100% will remember them). Those little, tight necklaces you wear around your neck.

coker.jpg

I looked to my friend and said "are those still a thing?" and she said "naw, I don't think anyone wears them, likely why they are placed here in the store" .... I then got extremely UPSET with myself. I looked at my friend and said "wtf? I don't give a fuck if they are a thing anymore, ew why did I even say that?"

All my life I have NEVER followed trends, but for some reason I was interested in if this item of fashion was a item of fashion ... THESE DAYS. I was literally appalled with myself. I have always worn whatever I wanted. If I liked it, I wore it. If I bought it, I liked it. I mostly shop in places such as Walmart, Costco, cheap stores in the mall, or my favorite... THRIFT STORES! If I wanna wear cheetah print, HELL YEAH I WILL! If I wanna wear a 5$ tank top from Walmart, fuck yea I will! I do not care where it came from, nor if it is "on trend" ATM.

be yourself.jpg

With me starting YouTube, Making vlogs, editing them and then posting them for potentially the entire world to see, I have been looking at myself A LOT lately. I am not one to look at myself in the mirror and be nice to myself, lets just put it at that. Normally, I am rough on myself and don't spend too much time looking in the mirror, but now that I am constantly looking at myself via video clips, I am noticing that I am becoming more freakin confident in my body! which is absolutely WILD because I have been having body issues since I was in high school (10 years ago)

I have been wearing wild patterns I would never think I would wear, SHORTS ... don't even get me started on that! Fucking rompers and jean jackets. Why am I doing this? Not because these things may or may not be on "trend" atm, but because ... I AM CONFIDENT IN MY BODY FOR SOME STRANGE REASON AND I LIKE HOW THEY LOOK ON ME SO THEREFOR I WILL CONTINUE TO DO IT BECAUSE IT MAKES ME FUCKING HAPPY AND NO I DON'T CARE IF IT IS NOT ON TREND BECAUSE FUCK YOU! Legit.

idgaf.png

PERSONALLY, you gotta do what makes you happy at the end of the day .... throughout the entire day actually. Try not to hate on yourself so much where you do things, or hide your body because your not happy with it! please please please do what makes you happy, not what everyone else may find "cool" or "uncool" Because at the end of the day, all that matters is you!

...I did not buy the choker, although I started wearing mine again & damn it feels good to be a gangsta

XOXO,
MM

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency