An Impromptu Birthday Dinner After a Horrible Day

Living La Vida Loca... Not

It was a sad day at work because it was my birthday and I felt like the 8am-7pm retail job I was working left me feeling like I was wasting my life away. I got there in the morning and left at night when it was dark. It sucked the life out of me and this was the first birthday I would be spending all day in a life stealing workplace. You can tell it was a miserable day until it was time to close up and leave the wretched place. I saw my girlfriend standing outside waiting for me and all the heaviness of the day melted away with that smile she wore. I actually felt happy and excited on the inside for once today.

20171216_195653.jpg

She gave me a warm big hug and greeted me with the most exuberant happy birthday I could ever have wished for while pinning a “birthday boy” pin on me. She was always awesome and lovely like that and that’s why I loved her. What she said next got me even more excited! She was taking me to an impromptu dinner and a movie. Not everyday a man is treated by his woman and this was so awesome!

20171217_000022.jpg

We headed to one of our favourite cinemas for a movie after which it was around 11pm. We headed over to a restaurant chain called Zanzibar where we could get a nice burger or something. I ordered a swiss cheese burger and wedges while she got plantain crab cakes. We were quite chilly so we got hot beverages instead of cold. I got a mocha latte and it came with the coolest little bite of a brownie that was meant to balance the flavors of the coffee. We huddled up under a jacket for warmth and sipped our tea as we awaited the food.

20171217_000016.jpg

20171216_235803.jpg

20171216_235515.jpg

It was around 1120 when we got our food and you can imagine after such a long day at work how famished I was. Both dishes were amazing and I wasn’t sure if this was because of the hunger alone but it felt satisfying nonetheless which is all that matters anyway. The burger was juicy and the flavours were well balanced as well as the textures. The wedges were crisp and hot and were extremely satisfying with regards to the cold chilly environment. The plantain crab cakes were brilliant as there was the savoury crab that paired well with the plantain and has a nice sweet and salty profile in terms of taste.

20171217_000048.jpg

20171217_000100.jpg

After such a satisfying meal, I saw in the distance of the restaurant floor, a tower of lights coming towards us. It was weird as I did not pay attention to the thing until the waitress put it down on the table. It was this amazingly huge mound of cupcakes well lit with candles and each seemed to be a different awesome flavour! I wasn’t told this until later on but these cupcakes were won in a giveaway by a bakery by my girlfriend. She entered the giveaway on my behalf and won the cupcakes all in time for my birthday! I told you she was amazing like that.

20171217_003621.jpg

20171217_003717.jpg

The waitresses sang happy birthday and I blew out my candles and at that moment and henceforth I forgot about my lousy day and the horrible job I had. I felt so much love and support! It was an amazing birthday, the movie was awesome, the food was satisfying and the surprise at the end almost brought me to tears! And hey! I got a balloon!

20171217_003631.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency