Newest Illustration -- Bob Marley (Start To Finish)


Source: http://www.clashmusic.com/features/ten-things-you-never-knew-about-bob-marley

There has been literally thousands of drawings of this famous Bob Marley pose. The one with his head tilted back smiling, as happy as could be. I can't say I am the first to draw it, but I did try to take a slightly different approach. Everyone always draws dreadlocks the same, so I wanted to really change the style of them completely. I hope you guys like my version of this iconic piece.


My Inspiration came from monsteroftheid on Deviantart and it helped to do the face by using his for reference, check him out at: http://monsteroftheid.deviantart.com/art/Bob-Marley-312991069

From Start to Finish:

I drew the outline of the dreadlocks first. As you can see, they already look much different than most drawings of Bob Marley.


Next I added the flat tones of the hair.


Then I added some highlights in his hair. This really started to make the drawing look fuller and not so flat.


Then I started adding facial hair and shadows on the face.


Then I added in the facial features. mostly the highlights of the face.


Then I added some shadows to the face to give it more depth.

The final piece:

#illustration
#art
#design
#famous

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now