This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

How I made My Wife's (And My Own) Wedding Ring.

20180417_042208.jpg

To start, I gather my scrap metal to melt together

I picked a metal that I had enough of to melt a small button. In this case it was 10k yellow gold for my ring, and 10k rose gold for my wife. The standard size crusible is perfect for the average ring size, for bigger fingers - opt for a larger crucible.


I melt the gold in a clay melting dish, lined with a sprinkle of borax. Using a camping propane tank with a hot head torch, it takes about 5 minutes for a even liquid melt. Once completely liquified, I pour the molten gold into the crucible. It takes half a minute for the metal to harden.

20180417_044023.jpg

Drill a small hole

This hole is for the jewellers saw blade, once I inserted the saw blade I attached it to the handle. Its time to start the most tedious task out of the project. For thicker rings it is even harder (like mine was). I made sure to leave a good amount of material for shaping and sizing.


20180417_180457.jpg

Once I finished sawing a crude middle, it was ready for the next step. It is now time to file, shape and size.

20180418_015617.jpg


After filing, shaping and sizing - it's again ready for the next and final step. Polishing.

20180421_022059.jpg
Her ring. The little bend is so that the wedding band fits snuggly around her engagement ring.

20180420_021623.jpg
My ring

Disclaimer - This method is not recommended. There are many more effective and efficient methods to accomplish the same goal.

Thanks for looking!