Is life a source code running on a computer over and over?

I am over 40 and I am giving ‘death’ a lot of thought. Not in a scary sense; rather a philosophical one.

Death is the inevitable. The only thing I am sure of that like hell. I never knew if I was destined to be born, or who I am, or why I am me and not you or anybody else, but I am sure that I’ll be dead one day.

My childhood big “why” is back again. Why “I” see the world through my eyes? Why this is me that feels the pain? Of billions living on the planet, and of all zillions who have ever lived why this should be me sitting here in 2016 writing these, and thinking of death.

What is life and what is death?

I have thought about ‘I’, ‘me’, and ‘myself’. They collectively form the center of my existence. As long as they exist I exist. Once gone the whole world collapses. ‘You’ and ‘yours’, has nothing to do with me...

To make along story short, I felt tired and bored of thinking. To distract myself, I started playing my favorite game – Resident Evil on my laptop.

I was so drown in the game that I thought everything was real: sounds, vibe and the fear. Zombies caught me and the game was over. I decided to play again. And all of the sudden a light was shed:

What if life is just a source code in a DVD with an ‘exe’ file that can be run over and over? The DVD is run and the game starts. You just chose a character, you plan, you run and you fight. You love, you hate and you die. At the end you remain a source code on a DVD that can be rerun and rerun until God knows. Can this code be broken or changed?

If so, who puts the DVD into the DVD player? Whose computer is used to play?

Any comments?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center