Vlog 307: European Union might ban the use of memes because of copyrights. Could frictionless royalty payments be possible on a blockchain? + Steempay 0.3


I woke up this morning to a Dutch news article from the NOS. here.

It stated in the title that the European Union might ban the use of memes and it got my interest.

Because of possible new regulation websites that facilitate content with copyright should filter it out unless royalties are paid.

Basically if you use a photo, song or movie that has copyright it should not be showed unless royalties are paid by the website hosting it to the creator of the original content.

The decision wether this will happen will be in about 2 months.

It's surprising to me that we still have this discussion in 2018...but anyway..

I'm hoping that in the future when more and more people are on a blockchain that royalties will be an automatic process. Just like getting rewarded on the steem blockchain is a automated process.

There are no accountants anywhere typing up numbers and calculating who gets what on the blockchain it just happens automatically according to a set of rules.

It's a frictionless process.

Why can't this be the case for royalties? There is already software out there that can detect copyright materials in content.

If someone earns cryptocurrency from their own content (but used a copyright piece of content while creating it) why can't royalties be frictionlessly paid to the owner of the original content (maybe trough a smart contract?) from the earnings.

This way content could generate a continuous income stream for the original creator. They would probably welcome the use of their content and content creators could just freely create content without having to worry about these damn royalties.

If content creators get paid, copyright material gets paid too. Everyone wins.

Now, Is this a good solution? I'm not 100% sure. There is probably many aspects that I'm missing but at least it's thinking in solutions and not banning things.

I truly think the solution for these problems lies in Blockchain technology and cryptocurrencies and I talk about it in my vlog.

Steempay


Steempay is a cool little website were it is possible to generate a QR code to get paid in SBD but you fill in your local currency.

It's created by witness @asbear and version 0.3 was just released here.

Website: https://steempay.co/ (works best on mobile).

I filled in 10 euro and this was created (without the red lines):


IMG_5487.PNG


After scanning the QR code I was presented with this. Very handy! I could pay straight away with Steemconnect:


Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 10.59.07.png


Dlive fantastic introduction post.


From the very beginning I realised that the blogging difficulty will go up in the future when more and better content creators will come to the blockchain.

I saw this introduction post by Bonnie Piesse and was very impressed by the quality. here

If this is a glimpse of the future. Well, we have our work cut out for us especially when SMT's come out.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

My live stream is at DLive


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
87 Comments
Ecency