The fear of losing my baby


Link

With a tear streaked face Alisha was by the hospital bed holding her baby girl close to her, the pain and fear of losing her unborn child were almost unbearable.

The ceiling above her seemed to be spinning, her head seemed to be resting on a pillow, yet when she looked it was already on the table, her fingers held both ends of the table, as if she was trying to buy some time.

She was so distraught that she seemed oblivious to the doctor who was sitting beside her and the nurse who was pressing some liquid into her arm.

"I had no idea that my very belief could be turned against my own child, said Alisha. I thought that it was in her interest to do this, not mine."

"When I first became pregnant I was afraid that I may be unjustly accused of infidelity, so I acted out of fear to protect my baby's existence. I didn't see it then but it was my my actions that caused the complication in my pregnancy," she continued, "I should have trusted my doctors, I should have trusted the Gift of Life from where this baby was conceived."

Alisha then said, "I hope my abortion did not cause any damage to my unborn child."

"When we examine your medical records," said the doctor, "we came across your dealings about conception. Because of your particular desires we gave you certain medication, which will make your pregnancy viable."

"What do you mean by that?" asked Alisha.

"We created a false husband, who was non existent, she replied, then she added, "we did it for many reasons, we wanted to give you a sense of peace of mind, we wanted to see if we can safely manage your pregnancy. But, more importantly we want to prevent another divorce in your future."

"And how did you do that?" asked Alisha as she looked at her baby smile.

"With your data we created an unborn baby and your wife's DNA was transferred into it," replied the doctor. "This was done very late when the DNA could be brought over without any problems, then you were tested and found not to be your wife, but your unborn child's father. The only reason we explained this was because we want to see how you would react."

"And how is that?" asked Alisha.

"You rejected your unborn child because you saw him as a false husband. Yet when we made it clear to you that your child was real and that it contained your wife's DNA you still rejected our development," pointed out the doctor.

"Why would I do that?", asked Alisha.

"I think it's because you wanted to do everything yourself, you wanted to bring up your child as an only child. Isn't it true?" replied the doctor.

The doctor looked at her with her big liquid eyes, which somehow penetrated Alisha and looked deep inside her for an answer.

Alisha then answered, "you can say that, but I wanted a child of my own as soon as possible."

"To do that you killed your unborn child", replied the doctor.

"But that was to protect my child, said Alisha, when I found out that he was not a real person I didn't want to waste any time. If the chances of another pregnancy in the future were upon us, I would rather be child's parent not its birth mother."

"We shall study your history and give you all benefits that you deserve," said the doctor as the nurse left to fetch some records.

"Is it okay that I hold him?" said Alisha as she looked at her son.

"Yes, hold on to him as long as you want," replied the doctor.

"Thank you doctor," said Alisha.

"No Alisha thank you, said the nurse as she handed the records to the doctor, "and please call me Jane. Thank you for taking care of the baby and loving him as a mother would."

Alisha then looked at the doctor and said, "Thank you so much, I never believed that such a human thing could ever be found in a computer."

"This is not a human, replied Jane, "but the first generation of his kind."

"And what kind is that," asked Alisha.

"He is the first of his kind, who was not programmed but rather grew from a seed," replied Jane

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency