VanMoof PowerBank (Full Review)

I’ve had my VanMoof S3 e-bike now for almost exactly eight months and have logged nearly seven hundred miles. The bike is incredibly addictive for reasons I’ve explained in previous posts (hint -- Boost Button). I was an avid cyclist long before getting the S3 in January but now I find myself making excuses to take “just one more ride” before the end of the day or using the bike for an errand I normally would have taken in the car.

The bike is just about as perfect of a city bike as I can imagine but, up until a month ago, it had one well known flaw, the main battery wasn’t removable. Although this does prevent battery theft it also forces owners to find indoor solutions to charging their bikes. Since the bike weighs nearly fifty pounds it was a complete nightmare for owners who lived in multistory buildings with no elevator. The non-removable battery also prevents you from being able to swap out a fresh battery to get more range on longer rides.

The folks at VanMoof solved these problems with their new accessory, PowerBank.

My brother surprised me for my 50th birthday in mid-June with a PowerBank (thanks Bro!). Due to supply chain issues, it wasn’t delivered until about a week ago.

Installation

Installation took about ten minutes and entailed securing a small bracket in the bottom crook of the frame with four small screws. The PowerBank locks into the bracket to prevent theft and secures to the frame with three velcro straps.

Aesthetics

The PowerBank integrates very well with the bike design and the VanMoof app. The app detects when the PowerBank is plugged into the main battery, showing information for both. When the PowerBank is disconnected the app doesn’t show any information related to it.

Performance

The PowerBank weighs in at 6.17lbs. It secures tightly to the frame and there are no rattles thanks to rubber dampeners wherever it touches the bike frame. Due to the low center of gravity of its mounting position you don’t even notice the extra weight while riding, not even in fast turns that you have to lean into.

Since I like a workout when I ride I typically ride on Assist Level 1 or 2. I’ve noticed that on Assist Level 2, with moderate-to-medium usage of the boost button the charge rate of the PowerBank replenishes the main battery at nearly the same rate that I’m expending it. On Assist Level 1 (the lowest level) with the same amount of boost button usage the PowerBank replenishes the main battery faster than I can expend it.

Be aware that if you ride a VanMoof S3 or X3 on Assist Levels 3 or 4 I can imagine that you’ll deplete the battery much faster than the PowerBank can recharge it. This could be an issue for some riders who prefer those higher levels of assist and want to charge while riding.

Convenience


We live in a fifth floor condo with an elevator but it has been very nice not to have to take the bike to our unit to charge it. All I have to do now is remove the PowerBank (which takes under 30 seconds) and walk it up to be charged. I’ll get much less “stink eye” from neighbors who don’t like to see bikes being rolled down the halls.

The PowerBank effectively transforms the S3 from a slick city bike to a fairly capable tourer. Since the additional battery will extend my range to around 80 miles (on Assist 2) and well over 100 miles (on Assist 1) I find I’m considering much longer rides. A friend and I will be tackling the Cannon Falls to Redwing, MN trail in a few weeks. Later this summer I’ll be riding the Munger trail to Duluth, which will be a two day ride.

After spending eight months with the S3 I realize the team at VanMoof are nothing short of geniuses. They've created a machine that not only is a joy to ride but one that modifies rider behavior and it does so unconsciously.

The bike encourages you to drive less and ride more. The amount of freedom and joy the VanMoof S3 has given me this summer is difficult to quantify. The S3 has also has turned out to be a wonderful investment in my health. At fifty years of age I’m more fit than I ever have been in my life in large part because this bike is so much fun and exhilarating to ride.

My Verdict?

The PowerBank only makes this incredible machine exponentially greater. I believe this bike is a tiny glimpse of our future. If this turns out to be true it’s going to be an extremely fun and wild ride.

Interested in Trying a VanMoof Yourself?

If the answer is yes, you can use my referral code (VRR#WY9E-FP78-LTQ0) for a $100 credit towards accessories or Peace of Mind coverage with the purchase of a new VanMoof bike. If you do, I also get a $100 credit towards the purchase of a new bike in the future. Click here for more details on the VanMoof Rider Referral program.

All for now.

With Gratitude,

Eric Vance Walton

(Video from VanMoof, Pictures are original.)



alt text

Poetry should move us, it should change us, it should glitch our brains, shift our moods to another frequency. Poetry should evoke feelings of melancholy, whimsy, it should remind us what it feels like to be in love, or cause us to think about something in a completely different way. I view poetry, and all art really, as a temporary and fragile bridge between our world and a more pure and refined one. This is a world we could bring into creation if enough of us believed in it. This book is ephemera, destined to end up forgotten, lingering on some dusty shelf or tucked away in a dark attic. Yet the words, they will live on in memory. I hope these words become a part of you, bubble up into your memory when you least expect them to and make you feel a little more alive.

Pick up a copy of Ephemera today on Amazon.



alt text

Most of us have experienced a moment of perfect peace at least once in our lives. In these moments we lose ourselves and feel connected to everything. I call these mindful moments. Words can’t describe how complete they make us feel.

These moments are usually fragile, evaporating in seconds. What if there was a way to train your mind to experience more of them? It’s deceptively easy and requires nothing more than a subtle shift in mindset. My new book, Mindful Moments, will teach you to be much more content despite the chaos and imperfect circumstances continuing to unfold around you. Upgrade your life experience today for only $15.99 on Amazon.com.



Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency