It's Been a While

business-time-clock-clocks-48770.jpeg

It's been a while...

Hello there, old friend. It's been a while since I sat down and wrote a post. I'm not here to announce that I'm 'Coming back to Steem™' I guess I wasn't ever here intensely enough to really 'be here' and so could never really have 'left'

Focus

So, a lot of changes since I was last here. The biggest of which I guess is a change in focus from financial gain to my personal wellbeing. And damn, it feels like a much better thing to focus on.

Who would have thought that eating right, sleeping enough and worrying less about money could do a person some good?!

But for real, I'm feeling pretty alive again. This in itself is a pretty big deal, I guess if anyone reading this knew me before then they'll understand.

Try this

Historically, I've always been skeptical when people have claimed that a book, movie, seminar, cleanse or anything really, has 'changed their life' and I guess I'll always feel that way. I wanted to share some material that absolutely didn't change my life at all.. but helped me to change it for myself.

First, I want to say that I've tried all the positivity self-help stuff and it's always left kind of a bitter taste in my mouth. Something never sat right with it for me. Enter:

Yeah yeah, it was on the New York Times bestseller list so I'm hardly digging up some buried treasure for you here. I'd definitely recommend giving it a read though, it's not perfect but it does have some interesting points about the metrics you use to evaluate relationships and events.

Ok, so that was decent but this:

Really helped me gain some perspective on the way I had been living my life and has more, useful suggestions on how I might go about living authentically and with my wellbeing in mind.

In neither of these books will you find affirmations, the law of attraction or anything else that subtly forces you to acknowledge that you lack what you think you lack in order to be happy.

"I don't buy books"

I hear you, maybe reading isn't your deal, or you don't really want to splash out on some books a stranger on the internet suggested. You can find both of these books for free here: https://b-ok.cc (If you like them, consider purchasing.)

Your next investment

This is so overdone but I'm going to say it anyway; Make yourself your next investment.

What do you have to lose?

Header image from Pixabay from Pexels

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency