The Clearest Skies In The World

One of the main reasons I invested in the new Nikon Z50 was because I wanted to get into astrophotography.

Being an astronomy guide at Explora Hotel in Atacama I'm lucky enough to get to study the night sky, and have access to the large telescope with the groups that I'm guiding. The Atacama desert is well known for being the best place in the world for astronomy and there are three reasons for this:

a) the lack of humidity - the desert is the driest in the world
b) altitude - the desert is the highest in the world (we are looking through less atmosphere)
c) the lack of light pollution - the desert is one of the darkest places in the world

DSC_0937a.jpg

In my first month as a trainee guide - getting to know the night sky

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency