Licancabur

Licancabur 1.jpg

The magnificent Licancabur Volcano.

Licancabur - the mountain of the great people - is a dormant volcano which overlooks the charming little town of San Pedro de Atacama. It's easy to see why this volcano is sacred in these parts after spending time here in the desert, its presence can be felt wherever you are.



There is never a day that goes by that I take this volcano for granted. I always think to myself that if you asked a child to draw a volcano this is what they would come up with. I've been lucky enough to spend time here in Atacama photographing the volcano and seeing how it changes through the seasons. I don't know how many hours I've spent photographing this one volcano, (I've got some great sunset shots coming soon) but it always delivers. These two photographs I took over two days when there was an unexpected storm that came in and covered the mountain in snow the next morning.

Licancabur 2.jpg
The same volcano one day later after a snowfall.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency