Making 2D Cake Designs - Gratitude #23


Let me start by sharing something about me which my clients think is weird. A lot of my clients ask me how I stay so slim when I bake so well (their words, not mine). My answer is I don’t like to eat cake and I don’t eat my cakes (maybe just a small slice or two occasionally). So how do I know if my cakes taste nice? My sisters are my guinea pigs. They love cake! 😋

Okay, enough of that. Let’s get to the nitty gritty.

First of all you’ll need to prepare your modelling paste by colouring it. I’m very particular about getting the colour right. I admit I spend too much time checking on the internet and it’s so confusing because every picture is different and has so many different shades!

Making 2D designs is not as easy as you’d expect. Believe it or not sometimes it’s more difficult than making 3D designs.

3D designs are molded and sculpted and as long as you get the clothing, hair, etc. of the character or thing right you’re okay. With 2D designs there needs to be accuracy. At least to me they do.

One of the most challenging 2D designs for me is Minecraft. There are like 5 shades of green, 4 shades of brown and a grey for the pixels / tiles and they have to be cut to 1 cm or half inch squares.

I made 4 boxes of these!

It’s impossible to estimate how many squares of each colour I’ll need so I have to make many many extras! Then there is the “tiling” of the cake. It’s crazy!

Jack helping me

I thought it wasn’t going to be too difficult but, oh man, it took forever to colour, cut and place the tiles on the cake! 😰

But I was really happy with the finished product. Made me feel proud 😊

My 1st Minecraft cake

2D characters can be easy and they can be challenging too. This is what I do for simple designs:

  1. Print the picture of the character I’m making.
  2. Cut it according to the different parts.
  3. Roll out modelling paste for the base.
  4. Roll out paste for the different parts.
  5. Place cut out paper on the paste and cut out paste accordingly.
  6. Place pieces together.






The really difficult ones are the intricate designs, especially for 2” cupcakes like these 👇🏻. Cutting multiple tiny pieces of paper and then modelling paste of different colours and putting them together is tedious work 😰 I’ve stopped taking orders for such designs.



These 👇🏻 are okay 👌🏻😊


Come back tomorrow to find out what challenges I faced making 3D designs and how I solved them.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/06/30/making-2d-cake-designs-gratitude-23/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now