This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Are you an 80's kid??

Good Morning Steemians,

While I am sitting here working at home, its a quiet morning on standby and no one needs me for classes. So I have been reliving my childhood.
I was born in 1979 technically my teens were the 90's but deep down I am an 80's kid which was the best time of my life. I wondered if you would relate or add to some of the things that I loved in the 80s.

cassette-2153538_640.jpg

Movies
There was nothing better than going over to the local shop across the road and renting a movie to watch, at the time some of the movies and storylines where a bit out of there, but some now are classic movies which if we watched today we would still enjoy them.

BNI.jpg

(Credit:IMDB)

Batteries not included

I loved this movie, basically it was about an old couple who ran an apartment building with a cafe on the ground floor. The building was old and the area was being revamped with many old buildings being torn down. Starring Jessica Tandy and Hume Cronyn they will not move out of the building and the residents of the block also decide to make a stand.
Things are difficult for them until they are visited by some helpful machines from outer space. This movie is an excellent rainy day movie with a blanket and a hot drink that will leave you with a smile on your face at the end.

WG.jpg

(Credit:IMDB)

War Games

Starring the wonderfully talented and a very young Matthew Broderick who plays a computer hacker in the 80's. I love this movie because its fun to see what state of the art technology was like back in the day. Broderick is a hacker and likes games, he finds what he thinks is a simulation world war game and starts to play. But little does he know that he tapped into the military computer system.
Its a story line that I think anyone can follow and you could watch it any time but not too many times or you may get a little fed up with it.

TV Shows

I think many would agree with me that as a kid TV was in its heyday with many games shows and action shows and cartoons, I loved to watch on an evening and weekend some of these now have even been remade but sadly not continued.

He.jpg

(Credit: IMDB)

He-Man

It goes without saying this was the number one cartoon I used to watch in the 80's. A guy called Adam was was prince of the Planet Eternia had a secret when he held up his sword and said some words, he became a warrior called He Man. And would fight enemies such as skeletor, evil Lynn, beast man and many more to protect Eternia from being taken over. I feel that these went on throughout my entire childhood, no one could talk to me while I watched this.

Thundercats.jpg

(Credit: IMDB)

Thundercats

I remember distinctly the very first episode of this and I was hooked and I mean hooked, everything I owned at one point became thundercats, bedding, toys, pajamas you name it I had it. This group of humanoid Cat people had to flee their planet Thundera as it was dying and seek out a new planet. Headed by their leader Lion-o this group of feline warriors land on the planet of third Earth, and while they set up their lives they must protect themselves and their new found friends from Enemies such as slyth, jackleman, monkien and the evil Mumm-ra. Lion-o keeper of the sword of omens was a child when he left his planet and when he landed on third earth became fully grown, but he needs the help of his team to understand what it is to be an adult. Watching this again now as a grown up I understand so much more of this cartoon. They remade this in 2011 but in my opinion the story line is not as good as the original.

Toys

toys.jpg

(Credit: Flickr)

Thundercats
It really was no joke when I said about thundercats stuff I had, everything from the characters, Thundertank and even the cats lair, this gave me hours of entertainment.

Rubiks.png
(Credit:Wikipedia)

Rubiks cube
I remember well when these were all the rage and I got on in my stocking at christmas, filled with intrigue and wonder I set about trying to get all the colours on the same side. I remember weeks later seeing someone who was able to complete it in less than ten seconds and I could only get two sides the same colour, in the end I peeled off and restuck all the stickers so it looked like I had completed it.

Ghetto.jpg

tape .png

Ghetto Blaster

The most sought after thing in it's hey day forget your phone's and MP3's in the 80's bigger was better and if you had one of these you were super cool. I remember walking around carrying one with a pair of headphones plugged in and thought it was the best thing on earth. Then would come Sunday if you wanted to play your favourite songs in the week then every kid at 6pm would tune in and record the charts top twenty, and you always had your selection of music for the next week while you were doing your homework.

I hope you enjoyed this little nostalgic trip with me back to the 80's. Were you an 80's kid? What programmes did you watch? What toys did you have? What music did you listen to.

If you liked this post please consider upvoting it, if you know people who would like it then a resteem would be good. If you want more content from me then feel free to follow me.