My first blog / 1 year in Korea...

My South Korean adventures

I’ve been meaning for sometime to start a blog on my life in South Korea and using steemit as a medium to do so. Having moved here nearly 3 weeks ago, finally settled, I’ve time to spare.

So here goes….

The start of my trip was auspicious, on arrival at the airport we found out we had been upgraded on our London to Seoul BA flight, as they had overbooked. NICE!!! Our first time flying long haul in Business class. We felt like royalty! =D

20180712_121211.jpg

Unlimited booze, that I never got to take advantage of, as I fell asleep; something I never do when flying. Typical.

The missus also dozed off…

20180712_140913.jpg
Bubbly and OJ

Must admit, was very comfortable, but frankly the food was not much different from cattle class, and would imagine someone who’d paid for it, being seriously disappointed.

On arrival found out that my Monzo card doesn’t work in most Korean shops… so had to rely on my trusted Mastercard.

Now one of the main reasons for coming to live in South Korea for a year, is that I need to seriously get my teeth sorted out. As I have to have 5 extractions, regrow bone, have 8 implants and other minor improvements, for a mouth that was heavily neglected when I was young.

20180713_171937.jpg
xray of my messed up mouth. Looks terrible

My wife (who is Korean) has a brother in law who works for one of the top dental practices in Daegu.

20180713_163001.jpg
Dental practice reception

Discounts abound, so here I am (I also think UK London dentists suck, unless you pay through the nose).

Straight off the plane, bus to Daegu and first tooth extracted. Tired and not even able to have a beer.
DAEGU.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this mini intro (assuming anyone read this lol). Trying to balance text and images so not just a wall of text. Feedback seriously appreciated.

More to follow, likely going to focus on hikes, food and eventually fishing for Bass....

PS: upvote, follow and all the usual jazz!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now