Too Many Questions?

Why is it like that?
Why?
How is it?
What makes it to be that color?
Why is the sun hot?

That was my life as a little child — asking silly (sometimes not), sometimes thought-provoking and annoying questions, Just like every other child (or maybe a little bit more). I have always thought that there is more to what I have been told or seen and so I keep asking endless questions about things and people.

Joy: I don’t know
Me: why don't you know?


Source

Clearly, I was one hell of a big case. Hard to deal with!

I have gotten a few scoldings for asking visitors “inappropriate” questions like, “why are you eating our food?” and a lot of others but really, for a child the scolding leaves just as the moment and after that, another silly or maybe embarrassing (to my parent) question will be asked.

As I kept growing, however, I realized that I was slowly growing out of this part of me too. I will go some other way to find out something Instead of ask, I will try it without knowing instead of asking. Most times because I wanted to prove a point or something, and that was how I ended up cooking a food that tasted really horrible and wasn't even cooked properly (years ago)😂😆

I have lost touch with a part of me, the questionnaire part of me (or so I thought), well, until recently (not so recent).

So, a few months ago, I needed to get a new phone, I did a little bit of research, found what I wanted and was ready to make the purchase. I stepped out and stopped by to say “hi” to a friend, and she offered to accompany me, I was so ecstatic because I so much hate going to all these commercial places alone.

So, we went to the store, I got the phone I wanted, made the payment and well, I began asking a series of questions, which my friend thought was really unnecessary….For example;


Source

Me: Do You have a screen protector for the phone?
Sales Attendant: no, Sorry we don't, it's a new model.
Me: what? What if the screen breaks, is that covered by warranty as well? (I know how clumsy I can get and how annoying it is for me seeing scratches on my gadgets, so I needed to play safe).
Me: can't you use a screen protector of another phone and somewhat “tweak” it to fit mine?
Sales Attendant: sorry, we can't do that??
Me: Okay… so, do you have a “jacket” for the phone?
Sales Attendant: we don’t have that either…
Friend: You ask too many questions
Me: ooh, I do? “I thought I have changed”, I said in my mind.

Wasn't gonna leave without asking the last question anyway, so I asked…

Me: Sorry, (just in case it was annoying) when can I come for them?
Sales attendant: check back next week

Funny thing is, I still haven't gone back and the phone now has a little scratch up, somewhere…. But, I asked….

After that day, I decided to keep tab of the questions I ask on a daily basis, and I realized that they really are quite much to an extent, well, depending on who I spend my day with. I have realized that the more comfortable I am with you (or excited) the more questions I ask.


As we grow older, we tend to slow down the rate at which we ask questions, we feel asking questions makes us look stupid and all but is that really it?

Most times, it seems like #1 tip for being an adult is; Never ask questions but life really can't be complete without asking questions. We may ask Google and other search engines but they really aren't same as asking another, it loses that human touch to it. And without that human touch, it never really is the same.


Source

Asking questions might be a bit uncomfortable most times but it could save us a whole lot of trouble and headache.

I know, there is the “make mistakes and learn from them”, but really, we are not out there looking for mistakes to make, we just have to make the best of them when they come by. And truth is, asking doesn't always save us from making the mistakes but they can.

Let go of the fear that you may look “stupid”, free yourself free, ask and learn new perspective, engaging with other. That's how we grow!



Much Love — Audrey❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency