Spring Vibes - Sun Triggered Nostalgia

SPRING VIBES

SUN-TRIGGERED NOSTALGIA



As I write this, both my analogue thermometer and my iPhone claim it to be above 20 degrees on the Celsius scale. I don't doubt it since I have been outside, for most of the day, without the need of a coat of any kind.

The weather is as bright as it is crisp. If you can get away from the fresh, somewhat chilly, breeze and catch a direct ray, you do warm up quite a bit. There is a gentle whistling sound of the still leafless tree branches that creates a pleasant white noise that disguises the otherwise annoying cacophony of road noise and the constant engine revving in my neighbourhood.

Basically, my backyard is an exceptionally pleasant place to be today, and be there, I will.
Sky.gif

Vitamin D deficiency is a big thing here in the north. The low levels of sunlight that we get and the indoorsy lifestyle, are the main culprits. It's hard to supplement adequately with food so many people resort to pills. I don't supplement with pills, I probably should, but I don't. A lot is said about the mental health effects of low Vitamin D, but not much about the "bone pain" issues it can cause in adults. I have noticed a higher susceptibility to bone pain for sure. My lower back and sometimes my legs sometimes hurt like heck for no apparent reason.

This is my favourite time of the year - Spring. It's when I always feel the most grateful for what I have. It's also when we move from the dark days to the ones with more light. Longer days, warmer weather and the promise of the incoming summertime.

I always find summertime itself a bit much. Not the temperature, I love the heat, but the way people behave in summer around here. There's always an uptick in crime fore example, especially amongst the youth. I suppose being on vacation and having nothing to do is partially responsible. The devil finds work for idle hands doesn't he?

When I was that age I looked forward to the summer holidays. Apart from getting months away from school, it was when I got to spend a lot of time with my grandparents. My parents basically deposited us, myself and my siblings, with their parents for the entire summer holidays. My parents' siblings also did the same with their children, my cousins, so we ended up in this huge pool of kids running all over the place.

It was fortunate (or actually quite normal for my parents generation) that both pairs of my grandparents lived in the same town! This meant I got to spend time with all four of them. My paternal grandpa passed away first when I was really young so it was mainly just grandma in that home. They also did have huge family homes with enough room for dozens of grandchildren at a time. It was a blast.

They're all gone now, my grandparents, but they did leave their mark on us their descendants for sure. We still talk about them regularly when we get together and on beautiful sunny days such as this one, I sometimes think about those amazing happy days.

Peace & Love,

Adé

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency