This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

How I am going to win the dehumidifier game....

675px-Maytag_dehumidifier1.jpg
My basement is damp because my house is old. For some reason beyond my understanding, dehumidifiers last around 2 years then die. In 2014 I bought a "Perfect Aire" dehumidifier. It died after almost 2 years. What tends to happen is the refrigerant leaks, then the unit ices up and just stops working. On my second try I bought a Soleus Air 70 pint dehumidifier, but I had an ace up my sleeve. It had a two year warranty, but I bought it with a credit card that extended the warranty by 1 year. I thought for sure I was going to win that time, but the dehumidifier lasted 3 years and 3 months! It lived 3 months past the artificially extended warranty and died. The refrigerant started leaking, and a small icy spot appeared on the plastic housing. Grrrr.

This time I did more research, bought the best consumer grade dehumidifier I could find, the Danby DDR070BDWDB 70 pint model. I bought it from Amazon for $210 shipped. It has a 24 month warranty on parts and labor, and I purchased a 3 year warranty extension from Squaretrade through the Amazon product page for $13.46. This is a great deal. If this thing lasts 5 years, it would be amazing. If it doesn't, I have the warranty to make it last that long. I can't see how I can lose this bet. Have you had any short-lived dehumidifiers? Comment below! Thanks for reading!

Image from Wikipedia, public domain https://
commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Maytag_dehumidifier1.jpg