I got suspended from Twitter for bullying Mr T. The future is stupid.

I was a kid in the 80's, and The A-team was a must-watch. Now I think about it, living in a very white Australia, Mr T was possibly the first black guy I ever saw. It was either him or Junkyard Dog, the wrestler.


Source

I had this exact card from 1986. If I'd kept it, it'd be worth $3 now.

image.png

Junkyard Dog sadly left us in 98, but Mr T is alive and well, and posting on twitter.

image.png

Reminded me of this cameo, inspiring a young Chris Evans (Capt America) in Not another teen movie - 2001


image.png

imdb

"Believe in the ball; and throw yourself."

Scrolling through the replies, I found nobody had quoted his line back to him yet, so I dropped it in; and was rewarded with a 12 hour suspension from Twitter for Promoting or encouraging self harm.

Which explains why I hadn't seen the quote from anyone else and makes me wonder how many others had the exact same experience.
Does Twitter consider him the target of a bullying campaign?
Is he wondering why so few people have ever mentioned that cameo?
If I suggest you really throw yourself into a role or activity; would that likewise trigger a suspension?
Is this the same AI that's on the cusp of taking over?

There's still a 7 year old boy in here; who's awestruck at this incredible technology, which lets me sit in my house and actually talk to the real Mr T; but there's also an adult disappointed to have this technology so poorly governed.
Maybe my expectations were unrealistic, like when I got the Mr T shampoo, which failed to actually give me a mohawk.

I can appreciate why a social media company needs to do these things; for better or worse they're held responsible for what happens on their platform.


image.png

Imagine if the post office was held responsible for the content of postcards they delivered.
Tweets are public though. I wonder if a solution might be to empower Mr T to hide responses; even letting him choose keywords or phrases he'd like to auto-hide. Put him in charge of the filter.
He'd still see them, but they'd be private, like a postcard.

I'm excited to see what becomes of Project Blank, and wondering what direction the LEO guys are planning to take it.
Will it be a clone of Twitter, with similar auto-deletion and suspension? If so, could another condenser step in as an uncensored version?
All the things they won't show you on Project Blank.
Project Blank after dark.

My thinking, is that each original author should be able to request specific content be hidden, and each condenser should make a decision on whether or not to honour that request.

image.png

Me thinking about Optimus Prime in 1985

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency