Crypto Hindsight Is 2020

Hindsight 2020

MOMENTS BEFORE MISSING THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME


Funny. I was organising my photos today, in order to keep some of my folders tidy, when I came across this photo. I wondered when I took it and looked at the timestamp, and it was exactly a year ago today - March 12, 2020. It was the day after a global pandemic was declared by the WHO. It was also the day of the epic bloodbath crash of the stock and crypto markets.

DSC06747.JPG

In this photo, I had the BTC/GBP chart opened in Coinbase Pro. (I have another version of this photo where the screen is in focus). I was doing a little day trading on the day and was actually in quite a bit of profit. I didn't sell because, like many greedy day traders, I was being greedy. I wanted juuuust a little bit more profit. Why not?

Well, literally moments later, the whole world came crashing down. I saw it happen live and couldn't do anything about it. Like a deer in headlights, I just starred at the horror unfold in real time. "Surely not all the way down", I remember thinking, "It'll bounce back". It didn't, and the rest is history.

Now here was the opportunity cost;

If instead of taking a thumbs up photo that was to be used on a blog post, I dumped every single crypto I had, sold my car to my neighbour and took out a massive bank loan. The very next day I could have bought back into bitcoin (or whatever) at mouth watering prices. Today I'd have more money than Elon Musk himself.

Alas! It wasn't to be. I was to endure a gruelling crypto winter like the rest of you. To my credit, I did keep diamond hands for the whole bear market until every single position turned green again. Every single one. Diamond hands!

Peace & Love,

Adé

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency