My tips for large families: the colour code

The organization is clearly my battle horse since we have 3 children. One, I was managing, 2 also but since the passage to 3, it quickly becomes anything and I had to find small tricks to succeed in finding me there. I thought I could share it with you even though, frankly, I didn't invent lukewarm water!

This first trick, I took it back from my childhood. There were four of us at home (my father, mother, older brother and me) but my parents were very nomadic and very active, so the organization had to be (and it was) very well organized. So, I was inspired by my mother who gave us each a towel colour.

So I put this in place for the bowls: each one has a large bowl and each one a small Rice bowl. So, no quarrel over "no I want the violleeeeeee and" at least when you use these bowls for mashed potatoes, pasta, cereal... It works so well that I think of applying this rule to glasses because for the moment, everyone wants the "violleeeeeeeeet".
At Rice, we always have the eggshells (which are at the bottom of a cardboard box waiting for the new kitchen) and the small tray compartments.

We also have towels from Monop with each one its own colour but they are so washed that we don't see the differences anymore. Towel sets of 5 colors, this will be one of our next purchases for the new kitchen but in the meantime, our rings of pyrogravated towels in our names are very useful.
And then where the colour code saves me and saves time, it's in the bathroom... Each one has a large towel, each one a small towel, each one a glove (but we use them mostly to hide our eyes when we rinse the shampoo). It's practical and hygienic.

I have a game of every color. When it's dirty, I wash and dry during the day, I don't even fold, I hang up on the coat rack right away. In case of need or when we have friends, I have a stock of old towels that remain folded nicely while waiting to be used. And then it's super pretty in the Rainbow Bathroom.
We try to keep the same colors but depending on the objects we find, it is not always possible. That's our code:
MMM: red (or purple for bowls)

Me: yellow (or grey for the basket) - and I don't like yellow too much but good, I sacrifice myself.
Kouign Amann: blue (he chose)
Flower of Salt: pink (he chose)
Petite Gavotte: green (or coral for bowls) (I chose).
So just a word of advice: put color in your home, you will save time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center