Kombucha and the difference in regulation of alcohol based creations

Whilst sitting in this lovely place (Golden Cane), jamming and chattingwith Steve, Hayden and Richard, we got into a conversation about kombucha.

"How many kombuchas would you have to drink to get drunk?" A valid question, since kombucha does contain alcohol. We make kombucha on our farm, so I know that it all must be tested to be sold, and that 1.5% or under can be sold to any age of human. Above that, and it is regulated by the liquor commissions. It still has only been taken to 3-3.5%, and piss beers (bud, coors, etc) are somewhere around 4-5%.

They then shared with me that vanilla extract is around 60% alcohol; probabaly Everclear based, much like tinctures (I have not verified this fact, feel free to correct me if I am wrong). Why is that not regulated? Does it get tested?

Sometimes it's fun to ask questions!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center