Sweets anyone?

Do your kids like sweets?

My kids love eating sweets. They would eat them probably all day long, if we let them. They used to call them goodies, because most of the times candies come in goodie bags from the birthday parties or as a reward from school.
I call it junk, because when I read the ingredients, there is nothing good in there. We now there is sugar, but there is also synthetic food coloring, like RED-40, BLUE-1, YELLOW-30, and so on. Also they add titanium dioxide and other unhealthy ingredients that are not good neither for you or your kids.
So, what do you do?, you may ask.
I was limiting amount of sweets my kids were getting, in comparison to their friends it would be like at least 1/5, or less. Also, I read the ingredients and mostly choose organic sweets, made with fruit juice for color. We substitute with real fruits, dried fruits. and sometimes homemade sweets.

It was working better with my older kid though. With the youngest one, it was harder, but as she is getting older, she is getting better, and recently she liked the taste of dried apricots.

My friend doctor told me once that there is such a thing called eating habit. What is it? It’s when people get used to some kind of food after years of consuming it, and it’s hard to break that habit, and if a person doesn’t eat that food for a long time he starts to crave for it. That means, if parents don’t introduce any sweets to kids, kids won’t ever crave for it. If they already tried sweets, and ask for them every day, then it would be a good practice to decrease portions every day and increase more healthy food until there is no more of those unhealthy candies.

I’m not a doctor, but this what I’m doing in my family. It works for us.

670a49c9_accb_4b03_8ac5_be87e3634a21.jpeg

I hope my experience is useful for some of you.

Thank you for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency