RE: Stumbling Past

Beep Question

2010-11-11 - Thursday - 04:25 PM - the 11th of November Nov of 2010 - Linux Questions - I asked: "Why is my Ubuntu Desktop (tower PC) Beeping Periodically & at Boot?

[Log in to get rid of this advertisement]
Why is my computer sometimes too noisy?

During boot, startup, periodically, or out of nowhere, my hard drive(s) will start spinning faster. That is what it sounds like to me. Beeping noises, spinning noises, struggling noises (really loud, not regular noises, not regular louder noises either, it may just break it's so noisy, it can last for a half hour each day) similar to CD or DVD spinning noises when the player tries reading damaged or scratched up parts of the disc.

Why is my PC so loud almost everyday?

My hard drive is not the newest kind either, so there is probably still some kind of disc in there that it writes to, similar to DVDs. I checked my hard drive for errors a month ago & fixed several bad sectors but I don't think it was that bad. I thought all of the problems were solved then. My computer is not noisy right now but it may return. When it's noisy I also have to wait longer for Firefox to load. Everything, actually, becomes slower.

Why is my computer yelling at me?

My two 80 GBs hard drives (inside my PC) are around five years old, made around 2005. The operating system is Linux's Ubuntu 10.04 right now. Two 256 MBs DDR1 RAM (equals 512 MBs total). Pentium 4 HT. 3 GHZ. The tower is HP Pavilion a450n. I got this computer from Free Geek, a non-profit technology computer-recycling-repairing organization. Meaning that I got this computer used (it's probably only several years old), through their building program. The fifth computer you build you take home, as long as you stick to their guidelines.

http://www.FreeGeek.org/

There is more to the story.

Actually, I had Ubuntu 10.10 on this same computer about a month or so ago (when I first got this PC from Free Geek) until it was acting slow one day.

After I accidentally unplug my PC (instead of shutting it off correctly, because it was so slow one day) it would go to BusyBox, it wouldn't boot. I waited around five hours waiting for it to fix itself & boot later & I tried the built-in restoring options which should fix it, & I try restarting it over & over again, & unplugging everything & then starting over all new, & I tried a bunch of things, but then I ended up installing Ubuntu back onto a blank part of the computer just so I could get back online to search for help from people like you (viewers like you, says Mr. Fred Rogers).

I first tried using the live CD to try entering some commands into the terminal but then I couldn't get online (onto my free wifi signal because I really needed the internet & still do), & so I needed to reinstall Ubuntu to a free part of the computer in order to get online.

But when I was partitioning in order to create a new free-space partition that I could put Ubuntu onto, I ended up deleting or writing over the other (or another) partition which contained 60 GBs of my files, videos, photos, documents. I ended up making the same mistake again on my other hard drive, too (right after that), which is also in the computer, which also had about 60 GBs worth of files also. So I totally screw things up twice that one week a month or so ago when I first got my PC from Free Geek.

Can I undelete all of that stuff on my PC?

Besides accidentally deleting or over-writing over my two hard drives, & besides that my computer sometimes make loud beeping noises which may just kill me someday, besides all of that, my PC does boot up now sometimes fine & it is sometimes as fast as it can be & I can at least get online to post this at least sometimes & I still at least got a computer until the day that it may just break from all of those loud yelling noises. It's like a small barking dog.

Because the noises are scary.

My biggest problem is that I deleted all of my stuff still.

I tried several programs, tried undeleting but failed at that.

I am almost tired of trying to fix this.

I've been at this for the last month, as of November 2010.

Joey Arnold

503.367.4695."

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency