Self-introduction

IMG_20210906_191159.jpg

Hello everyone! It is such a wonderful opportunity to be here. I have so much to share but first allow me to make the proper introduction. I am Lorelei C. Ganob, married and with two kids. I’m used to being called Lalay so I get that special feeling when someone calls me by my real name.

Anyways, it was @sarimanok who invited me to join your community. I came across her name in my messenger one day, and I poured out my sentiments to her. I love to write be it anything so when she suggested putting such talent into use I told myself, why not? Writing gives me a sense a comfort – my getaway from all the hustles in life. With that being said, I look forward to honing my writing ability and at the same time, learn more about this wonderful platform. Not to mention, give readers glimpses of the other parts of the world amidst the pandemic.

Aside from writing, I love to read books. So for the most part if I am not at work, I stay at home and make love with my books. I do get out of the house to take my dog Cooper for walks early morning and late evening. And when weather permits best, I bike around for several lapses just to keep those legs moving. One would say I live a mundane life. Well, if your version of fun is going out and keeping yourself busy with booze and smoke then my life is certainly boring. I do eat out and spend some quality time with friends but when you grow older, everything changes. You settle for simple things instead and shove those stresses away.

Screenshot_2021-09-06-23-51-54-13.png

Before the pandemic, travels to Dumaguete City were very frequent. Most of those trips, if not all, were for biweekly dialysis treatments of my husband for 21 years. The imminent threat of Covid 19 virus has tripled my family’s struggles. At first, it was beyond overwhelming. We got separated as travelling was no longer easy and became risky. Nonoy, that’s my husband and two boys Kuya Patrick and Bebernz have to stay in Dumaguete and I’m here in Siquijor. Yes, we have our share of ups and downs as a family just like anyone else but somehow, we managed to get past them and we still are. Parenting motivates you to work your way out for your family’s sake.

IMG_20210515_195445.jpg

I live in a small island in Central Visayas called Siquijor. The Spaniards who once occupied our place called it “Isla Del Fuego” because of the swarms of fireflies that move around at dusk. For a lot of people, they knew it as an island of witchcraft and mysticism but that doesn’t hold true. Well, probably I would agree on the mysticism part as Siquijor can easily captivate even the most adventurous wanderer. She possesses magic of some kind. Apart from the white sand beaches, Siquijor offers significant numbers of old historic structures which will really take you back in time.

IMG_20210907_100152.jpg

I work as a freelance Physical Therapist within the island. I love my job. There is nothing more fulfilling than to be able to help people. Patients along with their respective families have become my family too. And I have to say, treating patients has become my buffer being separated from my own family. What is most challenging though when it comes to treatment is for the patient and the family to see the importance of what you do as natives of the island are more inclined to get help from quack doctors.
I think this is it for now. I look forward to more stories to share.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency