I am a Newbee and this is my Introduction to Hive

240612551_2330796927056068_9199629038230876283_n.jpg

At this point, I still don't have a full grasp of who I am. I mean, who does? But let's not focus on the existential questions that sometimes keep me awake at night. Today, I'm gonna introduce myself to the amazing platform and community of Hivians/Hivers as best as I could! Yay!

I am Carmina Echavia, just turned 25 this month, and currently living in Tagum City, Philippines. I graduated BSED Major in English and taught for two years. When the pandemic hit, I decided to put teaching on pause and started live streaming playing games like Mobile Legends and just recently Axie Infinity.

I enjoy doing a lot of things! Please be warned. I don't excel in all of these activities. However, for the sake of focus, I stopped pressuring myself to be outstanding at all of these. As long as I enjoy them and as long as they make me feel alive, they will stay with me.

Writing

Light Green and White Tropical World Environment Day Instagram Post.png

Writer Book Promotion Instagram Story (1).png

I mostly write poetry. It is my attempt to make sense of my emotions and experiences. For so long I tried writing short stories, but my first ever completed story was written just this year as an entry for a contest. As a matter of fact, I posted it here on PeakD. You can check it here: @cloflo/axie-infinity-lore-contest--mataios

Singing

Untitled.png

I sang Can't Help Falling in Love during my students' promenade.

dfg.png

Sorry about the low-quality photo. Just snapped it from a video. Here, I sang Yellow by Coldplay, one of my fave!

I've been singing since childhood, but I wasn't able to hone it. Now, I just sing for fun. No contests. No lessons.

Painting

14581404_862463487222760_1321869636842854_n.jpg

I have a thing for painting stars, I realize. I plan to paint more, fill my house, and pretend everyday is an exhibit day. Let me bring the stars inside!

Gaming/Streaming

sdfsdf.png

Why can't I love games when they enable me to do things I can't do in real life like becoming a badass chic surviving a zombie apocalypse, a fairy that flies around and heals teammates, or just a regular person who can amazingly run for three hours and still have the energy to fight a bear! Aside from these, I am thankful because gaming brought me here to Hive.

How I discovered Hive

I started game streaming last year because I believe in the massive growth of the gaming industry in the years to come. Then here comes Axie Infinity rocking the scene because of its play-to-earn feature-- a revolution indeed. I didn't have a hard time applying for a scholarship program since my being a streamer gave me an edge. One time, our guild assistant admin encouraged us to join a lore writing contest by @axiebuzz here on PeakD. I placed third, but the ultimate prize for me was that I was able to be introduced to Hive-- a decentralized platform, rewarding users for their quality content, comments, and upvotes! I am a newbie to crypto, defi, NFT and I find Hive a great source of knowledge to learn about these things. Playing a decentralized game and being on a decentralized social media? Hell yeah!

A huge shoutout to @traciyork and @lovesniper for encouraging me to make an introductory post and for curating my first post here on PeakD. I didn't expect such attention and appreciation. I am looking forward to meeting people, sharing interests, and contributing value to this platform. Thank you for welcoming me here and definitely have a blast of a day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
47 Comments
Ecency