This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

First Post: Why I'm Here & How Many Hours Do You Spend Online?

So, according to Comsore, the American adult (18+) spends 2 hours, 51 minutes on their smartphone every day and according to MediaKix, we spend an average of 1 hour, 56 minutes on the top 5 social media platforms alone.

Social Media Usage Statistics
Across today's most popular social media platforms, people are spending the following daily averages:

YouTube: 40 minutes
Facebook: 35 minutes
Snapchat: 25 minutes
Instagram: 15 minutes
Twitter: 1 minute


Jeez, I definitely spend 8x more than that!
Do you know how many hours on average you spend in front of the screen? What methods do you use to track your hours spent online?

I think I spend an average of 8+ hours on my computer and possibly more on my phone a day. I'd like to think that in those hours, I've learned a ten fold of information and hopefully retained majority of the knowledge presented.

How many times do you find yourself spiralling down the internet-rabbit hole of information and you have no idea how you got there? It's almost like you've been hypnotized for hours, waking up to reality hours later.
ie. you go on YouTube to listen to a song, which leads to watching videos on how to make a quinoa cake, which somehow leads to videos of axe throwing for beginners, which leads to videos of celebrities roasting Kim Kardashian and it goes on and on until you notice the sunrising when you went entered bed 5 hours ago.
It's happened to me countless of times, especially before bed time and when I come home from work.

I figured the best way to track what I'm watching, reading, absorbing, eating is to write it down here.
I want to share the wealth of knowledge (most noteworthy) I come across everyday, here with you cats. I start off with this post.

So, what did you learn today?


Track Your Hours Spend On Your iPhone:

  1. Open the “Settings” app in iOS, then choose “Battery”

  2. Scroll down to the “Battery Usage” section of settings and then tap on the little clock icon

  3. Under the app name in question, see exactly how much time an individual app has been used!

On Screen is time the app is spent in the foreground in active usage, meaning the app is actively on the screen and in usage – this is likely the most important time noticed since it lets you know exactly how long a particular app is being used actively.
-- osxdaily

One thing that helps me is uninstalling the app. Out of sight, out of mind.

List of App Trackers (2014)


Since I'm new here, please follow me, @whatIlearned on my journey of knowledge and let's learn together.
Comments would be awesome, and if you don't know what to say, please answer any or all these questions:

  1. Approximately, how many hours do you spend online?
  2. Where do you charge your phone while you sleep? Do you have an alarm clock that's NOT your phone?
  3. What is the very first thing you do when you wake up?
  4. Do you walk around with your phone in hand when you're home?
  5. Please share one thing you've read/saw today that you want to share