Steem Developer, Hardware Enthusiast, Fellow Miner and a Test Engineer

Recently I just celebrated my 20th birthday, and my girlfriend has been on my ass about posting an intro. She goes by @cherish.

My name is Henry, I’m currently a 3rd year university student studying honours computer science in the field of cryptography and computer security. When I'm not typing out a crummy intro post for Steemit, I usually spend my free time typing out shit code and playing guitar. I also used to be an avid gamer, I was diamond 1 in League of Legends, Factorio and currently I play some Overwatch.

Being infinitely bored with school while having excessive access to the internet at the ripe age of 13, I stumbled upon something mysterious called ‘BitCoin’. Being a literal kid, my unending curiosity for just about everything sucked me into the crypto-space, something which has nearly no limits on the amount of intricate information you can drown yourself in.

Since then, I’ve been a passionate miner for all things crypto but never found a reason to develop for something blockchain related until recently.

Enter Steem.

I discovered Steem while scrolling through coinmarketcap.com, a summary page of most crypto coins that I sometimes mindlessly peer at for the pretty charts and green numbers. When Steem was around $0.32USD, it grabbed my attention as something I should look into. I first started with an attempt to mine Steem Power, which quickly sent me on a perilous journey of constant hardforks and sleep-deprivation that made it hard for me to remember things clearly. There were many guides for Steem noobies on how to setup a miner in Linux, (which are extremely detailed and well thought out!) but no one had yet built an automated system for mining. This is when I discovered the power of Steem and its’ potential for open-source developers.

Steem is a massive experiment with a constant need for developers in its’ ecosystem. No matter the expertise of the dev, Steem can always use more help. And, if you manage to wedge yourself into a nice niche in programming an app for Steem, you will be rewarded handsomely despite keeping it all open-source. Perfect for starting or building on your own coding portfolio for everyone to see. Being very early in my coding career, I decided to jump in on this opportunity with my own little Steem-based project. EZSTEEM.

As previously mentioned about the lack of simple setup for fellow Steem miners, I brought it on myself to start on a simple bash script that would automate this process. Soon, this little project had bigger dreams. What started as a simple project is now under development for including a full JSAPI on top of your personal node.

https://github.com/omotherhen/EZSTEEM/tree/v1.2

On top of being a huge nerd, I’m also a huge foodie. I consider myself a garbage can, I just shovel anything and everything into my mouth. I sometimes eat until I hurt, but I don’t ever regretti. Since Ottawa is known only for their Pho, but I have it at home all the time, there's not a lot of good food to eat around town. Which is why I mostly look forward to going to Toronto for visiting my girlfriend. Food > GF. But it is also nice seeing her when I have time off.

While I'm in Toronto spending time with Sharon, we usually just hit up a lot of food places and go sight seeing. Its a nice change from the quiet and dull Ottawa. We normally walk everywhere in downtown Toronto, from China Town to Yorkville then down to Harbour front. I never miss leg day while I'm in Toronto.

I also like working out and going on adventures. One of more memorable adventures this past winter was when I snow-shoed up Mont-Tremblant in -45c weather. It was struggle cereal but it was worth it. We actually did it twice in a row. The first time we came unprepared and only made it half way up the mountain before we realized we weren't going to make it. The next day, we brought water and snacks for the climb. We made it all the way up the mountain in 4 hours. The locals told us that normally the climb takes them 2 hours, so I guess next time I gatta do it in 1.

All jokes aside, I like to consider myself a genuinely nice guy who just likes to have fun and code. I will continue to develop for Steem to better the community while at the same time building up my own portfolio.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center