Lesson of the Steemit History Eraser Button


HistoryEraser.jpg
Image source

OK, let's try this again.

Yes, I actually did it. I can't believe it either.

Even after all of the warnings on Steemit about saving your password because it cannot be recovered, I did it. I lost my password!

At the time I was cautious about recording passwords anywhere other than in my password manager (KeePass is great!) I have a few different accounts with various cloud storage services for different purposes, and I consider that to be an effective data security strategy. If one gets hacked, I don't lose everything, and can still take measures to secure the rest of my data.

But if I keep multiple complete copies of all my passwords in different places in the cloud, then this starts to fall apart. So one password list to rule them all - sounds great in theory. Until that file gets corrupted. (This happened when I tried to save it with an overloaded hard drive - was not an issue with the quality of the application itself.) Posting this on Steemit, I am no doubt preaching to the choir, that centralized data is inherently insecure. Lesson learned.

Since almost every account has a password recovery option, I rebuilt my database within a week or so of clicking "Forgot Password" links. And most of it was in need of updates anyway. But not so with Steemit - gone forever! Entirely my fault; I totally get it, why this platform does things this way. And they certainly give ample warning.

Fortunately I was (and still am) really new to this, so I only had two blog posts on my old Steemit account, keving34, which is now frozen in time. But here are links in case you want to check them out:
Give Your Ten-Year-Old a Ferrari
Jobs for the Robots and Money for Everybody

(I will only do this for the purpose of directing readers to my previous work; I recognize that it is distasteful to promote posts using multiple accounts.)

And I have since started using a KeePass plugin to back up my database locally, and keep another copy on an offline hard drive. And yes, I have even resorted to WRITING ON A PIECE OF PAPER, that I can just keep in a desk drawer, something I avoid like the plague. So I think I'm here to stay this time.

More blog posts to come in the future, for that is where you and I are going to spend the rest of our lives!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now