Introducing my friend Lisa Kristine; an unorthodox and honest job seeker

Hi, my name is Joachim. I'm a computer engineer from Norway and I'm passionate about new technology. I'm also deeply interested in science, entrepreneurship, leadership, travel and all new experiences that will enrich my life. I will write my own introduction soon (in a separate post), but today I wanted to give a close friend an introduction, and hopefully help her on her path. As she has not yet registered on Steemit, I also hope that any response to her post below will encourage her to join this network. Enter Lisa Kristine:


Hi, my name is Lisa Kristine (now 30). I’m an open-minded Norwegian girl, who enjoys traveling and have a positive outlook on the world. 3 years ago I moved to Stavanger (Norway), and over that period of time I have had 4 different jobs. Due to the dip in the local market, caused by the steep decline in oil prices I’ve been let go quite a few times. However, I’m relentless and refuse to give up! Due to the vast number of job seekers in the region, I created a rather unusual and very honest job application last year which got the attention of several news outlets, and as a result I got a few additional interviews, which ultimately gave me a new job. I had this job for about a year, until once again, I was let go due to downsizing. As I find myself in this situation yet again, in this no-mans land. The void of the unemployed. I would like to broaden my scope ever more, and share a bit about myself hoping that this platform and the people connected to this network, will allow me to find an outlet for me to further hone my skills contribute and provide value.

I thought what better introduction to give than the somewhat unorthodox, personal and honest job application that was picked up the local media last year (it has been translated to English):


Eagerly looking for a job, and hope a job is equally eager to find me. Photo: Eirik Haldberg Johnsen

«You must be fun, attractive and give me room to be myself»

The job application of Lisa Kristine (29) is something out of the ordinary.

«You must be fun, attractive and give me room to be myself. You offer your good qualities and makes me want to and makes me want to give my best.»

Lisa Kristine Haldberg Johnsen (29) has just posted an unusual proposal on Facebook, in which she looks for the job that is seeking precisely her.

«No, this is not a desperate advertisement on Match.com, but a totally honest job application.»

- Desperate

«The reason you seek me is because I’m a social and extrovert girl/woman (soon 30 – help!) from exotic Trøndelag.»

- Why this rather unusual job application on Facebook?
- I’m starting to get desperate, she says laughingly, and expands:

- I have not been unemployed for very long, but I have applied for jobs since February, and it is a very frustrating process. I don’t even get a proper rejection as a reply – just a message that the application stack is so large, that I’m not even getting evaluated.

Difficult process: Lisa Kristine (29) is tired of applying for a job without even getting a proper response.
Photo: Eirik Haldberg Johnsen

Would like to stand out

Since February she has sent out at least 40 ordinary applications. These has not gotten her anywhere.

- Do you believe that the Facebook-application could bring you higher up in the application stack?
- I hope that it could help me cut the line a bit. I have rather pointy elbows, but as a stranger fairly new to the city of Stavanger, without a large network, it is rather challenging for me. I’m the last person in, and the first to be let go.

«I’m not very creative, but I do like to try out new things – such as this very honest, but rather unusual job application.»

Johnsen has worked in a recruitment agency previously, and is of the opinion that she has a certain understanding of what an employer is looking for in a new employee.

- This is why I try to be creative with this application, to stand out from the crowd. There is an incredible amount of highly educated job seekers, and many of them come from oil related business with very strong competence.
- The competition is very tough. That is why I hope that the Facebook-application could land me an interview, as this would make it possible for me to present my experience, skills and how I could contribute.
- You think that charm and creativity could trump competence?
- Yes, I think so, in certain cases. All workplaces needs a Trønder (person from Trøndelag in northern parts of Norway), I usually say ;).


Eagerly looking for a job, and hope a job is equally eager to find me. Photo: Eirik Haldberg Johnsen

Good response

- How has the response been after you posted the application on Facebook?
- It has been very good! The post has been shared by friends and and acquaintances, and people seem to like what I have written.
- No proposals from potential employers yet?
- Not yet. However, it is not a long time since it was posted, thus I hope that something will come up eventually. It’s spreading quite quickly – just the fact that you called, is a very good sign!

Below you can read the entire application:

The honest job application
- Job seeks me!

You must be fun, attractive and give me room to be myself. You offer your good qualities and makes me want to give my best. No, this is not a desperate advertisement on match.com, but a very honest job application.

The reason you are looking for me is that I’m a social and extrovert girl/woman (soon 30 – help!) from exotic Trøndelag. I also have the job qualifications, I’m not just jolly and nice.

I can work with most things, from my point of view at least. However, I’m not very good at Excel, but I can systematize and organize things in this hopeless program, if you want me to.

I’m not particularly creative either, but I like to try new things – such as this very honest, but rather unorthodox application.

No, is rare word in my vocabulary. It is only used when there is something that I absolutely cannot stand – such a making coffee. I simply don’t know how. I don’t drink it either, but other than that I will manage most things without a glitch.

The job looks for me offers headroom that goes way beyond the municipal regulatory requirements. You need administrative support or help with personnel, sales, ad-hoc work, and all the other big titles that are rather non-descriptive.

You don’t need to be an oil company. In the unlikely event that you are, I will not reject you immediately, however since “the oil” (oljå) made me unemployed (NAV-er) I’m allowed to be a bit skeptical, am I not?

You should have competitive compensation, good pension schemes and have a solid understanding of Trøndersk (my local northern Norwegian dialect). If Trøndersk is problematic, I could try to strike a cord on the quasi-form of the local Stavanger dialect (“quasi-siddisk”), or potentially turn to English.

I have looked for you for so many months now, that I don’t really look for a positive response, like most people write in the job applications. An actual response is more than enough.

Regards the honest job seeker!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now