This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Steven the SteemPunk Historian - Exploring and Explaining the Past

Are you interested in history? Do you listen to a podcast everyday? Then pay attention!

What is Hour of History?

I am a PhD student at Temple University in Philadelphia, where I study the past. At school I read a lot of books, teach college courses, and have great discussions so I thought I would take those activities and share them with the world.

With that in mind, I sit down with my colleague every week and discuss important historical topics at http://www.hourofhistory.com

A few weeks ago we talked about Russia http://hourofhistory.com/hour-of-history-episode-6-russia/, an important country in world affairs today. I was lucky enough to travel to Russia in 2010 and I snapped this picture in a snowy graveyard of old Soviet icons.

17567_245755462886_4908124_n.jpg

Why am I on Steemit?

However, for the next few months, I will write about the amazing city that I live in - Philadelphia! Philadelphia has an interesting history with something for everyone. One of the things I love in Philadelphia is hockey. Did you know there was once a team in the National Hockey League called the Philadelphia Quakers? They only played for one season.

1930_31_Quakers.jpg

As you will learn, there is much more to me than just history and hockey. I have taught students of various ages in environments ranging from an English cram school in China to Title I public schools in New York City. Born in California, I was educated at Louisiana State University, where I earned my Bachelor of Arts in History; Brooklyn College where I earned my Master of Arts in History; and St. John’s University where I earned my Master of Science in Education. When I am not watching for scarlet tanagers in John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge during the spring and fall migrations, playing Irish tunes on my fiddle, or practicing Muay Thai, I will post to steemit.

20171204_194820-1.jpg

Stay tuned for more great content