My Introduction to Hive : )

Hi everyone! My name is MacKenzie. I am currently a student at Oklahoma State University studying Human Development and Family Science (HDFS). This semester, I am taking an entrepreneurship class with @trostparadox, through which I will be using this platform often. I have never used Hive before but I am excited to get started. To begin this new journey, I thought I would share a few things that make me who I am. To start, I would like to say that I am pursuing an HDFS degree because the concept of development fascinates me. The idea that every experience in one's life has the ability to shape their future is one that continues to amaze me. To think that everything can be so connected, even if it is not apparent in the moment, illustrates that every human being is one giant puzzle waiting to be figured out. With my concentration in Early Childhood Education (ECE), I am able to assess the puzzle pieces that students start with and help them make those connections towards the bigger picture. After graduation, I plan to become a prekindergarten teacher in low income areas with limited access to high-quality ECE programs. By filling these gaps, students are able to discover their full potential and grow to become positive members of their future societies. I like to think that by following this career I am able to make small differences in the world around me that will eventually lead to a better life for all of us. Specifically, my long-term goal is to open a non-profit in a low-income area that will act as a sanctuary for students to come and receive tutoring services, as well as hands-on experiences with various animals to learn different life skills, such as responsibility. By taking this entrepreneurship class, I hope to gain the ability to recognize consumer interests and needs to tailor my non-profit to individual communities.

Outside of school, I like to spend quality time with my friends and my dog Bruce (pictured below). Bruce is my 150 lb Leonberger that thinks he is small enough to be a lap dog. Originally bred to be working dogs by pulling carts and rescuing people from drowning, Leonbergers are now known to be massive cuddle bugs to lounge around with and love forever. And Bruce definitely meets both of those requirements. He is a great dog! But enough about Bruce, let's talk about some of my hobbies. For one, I love to knit. I know it sounds weird but I started knitting when I was 16 and haven't stopped since. Being able to make something by hand that people will enjoy fills me with such joy that knitting has become my number one stress reliever. So far, I have only been able to make scarves but once I master that skill, I can move on to something a little more complicated, like a beanie or a sweater.

When I'm not spending time with Bruce or knitting my stress away, you can usually find me watching television or listening to music. I have very eclectic tastes for each of those mediums, but if I had to pick a favorite genre for both I would have to say psychological thrillers and classic rock. Movies like Get Out and Us or shows like the Twilight Zone keep me on the edge of my seat. I love them! And as far as music, I like to listen to classics like Eric Clapton, Bob Seger, Black Sabbath, Queen, Aerosmith, and so many more. There are definitely too many to count.

Well, I think that is probably enough for now. I look forward to becoming acquainted with all of you! Talk soon!

323ec7a5_b380_44c5_bb2e_7232442a137d.jpeg
(This is my own personal photo of me)

b1b2f7a3_9874_4bee_8953_51508f1e7dc4.jpeg
(This is my own personal photo of Bruce when he was around four years old)

9c5de9bd_1f58_479e_950a_d0bc124da0e3.jpeg
(This is my own personal photo of me and Bruce when Bruce was around 10 weeks old)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency