I am Troi Bryan @freedomengineer... and I am here to #buildfreedom!

Hi, my name is Troi Bryan

My primary steemit handle is @freedomengineer

I have been an anarcho-capitalist and an extropian for over 25 years.

This is my introduction post on Steemit.com!

My path to Anarchism was first through Ayn Rand, then through Doug Casey.

I make my living through farming wheat, canola, and lentils in Saskatchewan.

Here is a canola field in flower... (and me)

canola_flowers0fcc3.md.jpg

Here is a swathed canola field, ready to harvest.

canola_swathfd2f9.md.jpg

For fun I like to travel with my family, watch my daughter dance, downhill ski with my son, coach hockey, and write speculative fiction. (I will post my fiction on steemit under a pseudonym.)

Outside of farming and my family, I have many other interests, but they can all be categorized into two groups.

  1. is life-extension technologies
  2. is expanding human liberty through freedom engineering technologies

I grew up in a small rural town, and not only was I the only one there who thought like me, I was quite possibly the only one in my whole province who thought like me.

When the Internet started opening up around 1993, I remember thinking, even before I had access to it... that this "Information Super Highway" this thing called "Cyberspace" was going enable people like me to find each other!

I assumed that once all of us nyms named "John Galt" did find each other, we would efficiently construct the kind of free civilization on earth that was proper for rational humans to live in.

As soon as I got online I started publishing manifestos about freedom.

Some of the first people I met were two anarcho-capitalists my own age; Jeremy and Per. Those were exciting days.

Unfortunately, the deep state is still in control of things.

I pay my taxes (grudgingly) in exchange to be allowed to continue farming... and pay more taxes?!?!

We as 'libertarians' and Voluntaryists (the trendy word for an-cap) have done a piss poor job of transforming the world.

There have been many attempts, (remember Laissez Faire City??) but thus far, all have failed.

Running a libertarian project is a lot like herding cats.

There are a surprising amount of loafers and whiners who use the label 'libertarian'. That's a problem.

And don't even get me started about the collectivists who use the label 'transhumanist'.

I guess using labels in not that helpful. It is better to speak in concepts...

I believe that all interactions between humans should be volitional. <- period.

Enter Steem.

I didn't invest in Steem because I thought that 2 billion people would join Steemit and that the market cap of Steem would consume the Facebook and Twitter bubbles and that I would make 10 million dollars simply by holding Steem Power.

I joined Steemit because I hoped that 10,000 of the vital few people would also join.

I am a firm believer in the 80/20 principle.

I think that a small percentage of humanity are responsible for it's progress.

I am not holding myself up in this class. I admit that I am an average person, with average inteligence and abilities.

But, I am just smart enough to observe the universal unbalances; including those in human ingenuity and integrity.

If Steemit continues to attract the right kind of people; such as Roger Ver for instance...

... then we can build a free civilization on this blockchain.

Steemit is not a social network to me, steemit is a culture.

I think (and hope) that we are building a culture here.

A culture of freedom.

Thanks for reading.

In November I will be launching 'Steem Sharks' which will be a pitch and startup show for anarcho-capitalists. It just might be awesome. follow @steemsharks

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center