Through the Looking Glass: A Glimpse into My World

"Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life. Don't be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people's thinking". -Steve Jobs

Hello Hive! My name is Shaby Leigh but you can call me @coalesterrr, a 14-year-old student. I'm not confident when it comes to writing introductions, but I'll give it my best shot.

Background

I am the youngest in a family of five. I used to live in Cebu. However, when I was around 8 or 9 years old, we moved to the province.

SNOW_20231209_181633_638.jpg

You could say that I was isolated in my life in Cebu. I never got to experience playing with other kids after school or going out to socialize with them because I really had strict parents. The only time I got to leave the house was when my parents or siblings had to run errands or buy groceries and other necessities, so I always tagged along or they brought me with them. I did have a childhood best friend, so it wasn't really all boring. His name is Dave, and we have been classmates since daycare. Our bond is unbreakable, but sadly we separated because I had to go to the province. We never got to see each other for the last time and say our goodbyes. We lost connection and never heard from each other ever again.

My life changed dramatically once we moved. By the time we moved to the province, I was completely amazed at how things work here. I grew up surrounded by tall buildings, busy streets, and the constant loud honking of cars. It was the total opposite of the city. Everything is just so peaceful, calming, and amazing. For the first time ever, I got to see a carabao in real life (I know it sounds unbelievable but it's true). I saw many amazing things that I wasn't able to see or experience back in the city. Living in the province made a huge impact on my life. The most memorable time was when I got to play with my cousin until noon for the first time, and by the time we went home, we were drenched in sweat. It was really fun, and I can still feel the adrenaline pumping through my veins even now.

It wasn't so bad to move to a new place, I reminisced about my life in Cebu. I missed living there and I missed my old friends there, but in order to grow you must explore and try new things you haven't done before. As the years passed, I became used to living here. I have friends that truly loved me and I began to socialize more, something I hadn't done way back.

So yeah, my life is a rollercoaster ride. Many unexpected things happened and honestly all the challenges and hardships I’ve been through moulded me to who I am today.

MY LIKES

WRITING

Ever since I was a kid I discovered that I have a deep passion for writing. The first time I wrote an essay wasn't really great, it was a total fail. I feel discouraged, but that doesn't mean I gave up. I continued writing, it may be essays, my opinion on different things or poems, anything that helps me express my thoughts and feelings. Until I saw a little bit of improvements.

I write poems during my free time, mostly it's about how my days end, what I feel and sometimes I make poems about other people. Writing poems is really fun and challenging at the same time, because I have to find the exact word to describe something and how they should rhyme, and it's fun because I can turn something simple into something more meaningful and beautiful, and after I finished I can feel the satisfaction of finishing my work!

Even these days, I'm still trying to improve my writing. I yearned to write like those authors in a book I've read. But everyone has their own pace towards their success so taking it slowly sounds right to me.

PUBLIC SPEAKING

I just found out recently during our report in one of our subjects is that I like speaking in public. Growing up I always thought that I lack the skills and confidence to talk in public because I always feel nervous and stutter when it comes to public speaking.

I have tried public speaking when I was running for SPG as a vice president in our school, and it was a total fail AGAIN. When it was my time to talk, I was literally trembling and stuttering. I tried to keep my composure because I didn't want to be a stuttering mess, I successfully did and nervously waited for the result of who won as vice president, while silently scolding myself for being such a fool in front of everyone. Finally, the result was shown and I did win. I was super happy!

So going back, I'm starting to love the idea of talking publicly, because I get to get out of my comfort zone (which I totally needed to do 😓) and share knowledge with the audience. I just need more practice and experience to master the art of public speaking!

EATING TOMATO (AS SNACK)

It sounds a little bit weird but I assure you that eating tomatoes is like the best thing ever. I'm not exaggerating, I'm just telling the truth. It's healthy and has many benefits. It started when I saw my sister eating tomatoes while she's studying and as a kid who had no idea what was happening around her, I decided to get a tomato in our refrigerator and eat it with chocolate syrup (weird but it's super delicious). I keep eating tomatoes when I'm bored and as the days passed, I discovered my undying love for tomatoes.

My mom planted tomatoes in our backyard way back in 2021 and I was the one watering it every afternoon, maintaining it healthy and alive is really challenging since I have to make sure it doesn't get too dry or wet and make sure insects don't eat it.

When it's time to harvest it, my mouth waters just by imagining the crunchiness, sweetness and the little bit of sourness of the tomatoes. 🤤

MY DOGS

I owned 6 dogs. Their names are Tambok, Justin, Aki, Thor, Kiba and Loki.

20231209_182024-COLLAGE.jpg

(I didn't have any picture of Aki and Thor)

They have their own personalities that makes them unique. Tambok is the snobby one, Justin is always ready to protect you no matter what happens, Aki is the spoiled princess and who jumps really high for a dog, Thor is the fat who likes to bite my ankles, Kiba is the big and goofy one and Loki is the spoiled puppy that chases me around if I don't pet him.

They all like meat jerky and their favourite part of the day is meal time. I sometimes take them for walks if I’m not busy. I can't imagine my life without them, they are one of the reasons why I wanna be successful. They like to bite things and are really hard-headed. They only listen to Mama and sometimes would only approach me if they wanted to eat 😒.

WHY I JOINED HIVE

IMG_20231210_135859.jpg

IMG_20231210_135848.jpg

First of all, I want to thank Ma'am @jobeliever for introducing me to HIVE. Thank you for giving me such a big opportunity🫶.

I really don't have any idea what I have gotten myself into. When Ma'am Jobelle said that I can express myself through writing blogs or just by simply writing your thoughts, it really piqued my interest.

At first, I was really hesitant to join but later on I made up my mind and decided to grab the opportunity. I realized that joining has many benefits, it can expand my knowledge more, not just in writing but also in other things. I can meet new people and hear many different stories.

You have reach the end!

--

Thank you for reading my introduction!

Have a great day! Don't forget to drink your water and smile more! (⁠。⁠•̀⁠ᴗ⁠-⁠)⁠✧

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency